Skip to main content

Guide to Resources on Yugoslavia and its successor states: Overview

Guide to Resources on Yugoslavia and its successor states

The UCL SSEES Library collections mirror the main areas of research and interest for the School with a focus on important scholarly resources on historypolitics and sociologyeconomics and business, and language, literature and culture. They are of international importance and provide the basis for excellence in teaching and research of the School.

The collections on Yugoslavia and the successor states are shelved on the Lower Ground Floor of the Library. The classification scheme used to arrange the books on the shelves has been devised to reflect the complex relationship between states in the region. There is a general section for works on the state of Yugoslavia or for works whose geographical scope covers more than one of the succeeding republics. The general section Gen.Ju, is followed by individual shelf mark for each of these republics: Bosnia and Herzegovina Gen.Ju.Bos, Croatia Gen.Ju.Cro, Kosovo Gen.Ju.Kos, Montenegro Gen.Ju.Mon, North Macedonia Gen.Ju.Mac, Serbia Gen.Ju.Ser and Slovenia Gen.Ju.Slo. There is also a  separate shelf mark for Vojvodina Gen.Ju.Voj. Books in the section are further subdivided according to the UCL SSEES Library classification scheme.

The majority of the works purchased are in English or in the languages of the area, with occasional acquisitions in other European languages.

Since its inception the School has had a strong interest in the territory that comprised the former Yugoslavia and the Serbian and Croatian languages have been taught here since 1919. The Library's collection on former Yugoslavia was developed with the help of gifts from the Yugoslav government between the wars, a policy continued by the government of the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia. Disruption to regular book supply caused by war and sanctions during the 1990s is now a thing of the past. Exchanges with libraries there, and, above all, a regular purchasing policy, have resulted in a wide-ranging collection covering the history and politics, economics and social sciences of the region, as well as their culture, languages and literatures.

The Library subscribes to newspapers as well as to scholarly serial publications originating from or pertaining to the area.

Among notable historical sources are Monumenta spectantia historiam Slavorum meridionalium, Zagreb, 1868- and Diplomatički zbornik Kraljevine Hrvatske, Dalmacije i Slavonije, 15 vols., Zagreb, 1874-1934.

Thanks to the bequest of Sir Arthur Evans, the Library has a distinguished group of books published before 1800 relating to Dalmatia and Bosnia as well as later works on those area. Some of these historically important and rare travel books and historic maps were digitised as part of the EU’s Europeana Travel project.

The Library holdings also include archive collections of interest in the study of history. A selection of digitised archive material can be seen in the UCL SSEES Special Collections.

An invaluable resource for UCL students and staff is being acquired in the Bain Graffy Film Collection. The section of the collection contains documentaries on the country.  Where possible, copies with subtitles are obtained in order to open the collection to as wide an audience as possible. For information about access rights and requesting audio-visual material see our FAQ.

Getting help

Suzana Tamamović

Area Liaison Librarian for

South East Europe

Email: s.tamamovic@ucl.ac.uk