Skip to main content

Guide to Resources on the Balkans: Overview

Guide to Resources on the Balkans

Books that deal with the countries of the Balkan Peninsula as a group are brought together in the General Balkan collection, located on the Lower Ground Floor of the Library.

The UCL SSEES Library General Balkans collections mirror the main areas of research and interest for the School with a focus on important scholarly resources on historypolitics and sociologyeconomics and business of the area, and to some extent also language, literature and culture  - there are number of descriptive works, travel accounts and memoirs of visitors to the region dating from the 19th and early 20th centuries.

Books in the section start with the shelfmark Gen.Balk.and are further subdivided according to the UCL SSEES Library classification scheme.

In addition, there are separate classes for each country - books on Albania, Bulgaria, Romania, Yugoslavia and successor states, as well as our small collections on Greece and Turkey are also all to be found on the Lower Ground Floor. They are of international importance and provide the basis for excellence in teaching and research of the School.

The majority of the collection consists of works in English or one of the languages of the Balkans, although occasionally books may also be acquired in other European languages as well..

Some historically important and rare travel books including accounts of travel through Balkans before 1860, and historic maps were digitised as part of the EU’s Europeana Travel project.

The Library holdings also include archive collections of interest in the study of history of the Balkans. A selection of digitised archive material can be seen in the UCL SSEES Special Collections.

An invaluable resource for UCL students and staff is being acquired in the Bain Graffy Film Collection. The section of the collection contains documentaries on the countries of the area. Where possible, copies with subtitles are obtained in order to open the collection to as wide an audience as possible. For information about access rights and requesting audio-visual material see our FAQ.

Getting help

Suzana Tamamović

Area Liaison Librarian for

South East Europe

Email: s.tamamovic@ucl.ac.uk