Journals and journal articles
Search journals and journal articles in Explore or in specialist databases available to members of UCL. For help and useful tips on how to search, see the guide to using Explore. For information on finding and requesting journals, journal articles or store items see the FAQ.
E-Journals with focus on politics and sociology:
- Transitions Online – a magazine covering political, social, cultural and economic issues in the former communist countries of Europe and Central Asia. UCL Library Services provide access from 2003 to the present.
- East European Quarterly
- The Central and Eastern European Online Library (C.E.E.O.L.) is an online archive which provides access to full text PDF articles from over 1000 humanities and social science journals and re-digitized documents pertaining to Central, Eastern and South-Eastern European topics. The database can be scoped to search for journals by subject or by country.
Search UCL’s databases to find articles on politics and sociology in international journals.
More subject-specific journals can be accessed via E-journals available to members of UCL.
Printed journals are located on the Lower Ground Floor of the library. Journals with a STORES location can be requested either via Explore or from the Stores Service.
Search Explore or specialist databases available to members of UCL to find news sources. For help and useful tips on how to search, see the guide to using Explore. For information about finding and requesting newspapers, microfilm/microfiche or store items see the FAQ.
Databases covering Albanian news sources:
- Nexis UK: A database of news and company information (formerly provided as LexisNexis 'Executive')
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports: Transcribed and translated intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories, covering 1941-1996.
Also, for news in English:
TV news and political commentary programmes:
See our Guide to TV news in Eastern Europe: Albania for list of relevant programmes.
Search Explore for UCL books/e-books and pamphlets on Albanian politics and sociology. For help and useful tips on how to search, see the guide to using Explore. For information about finding and requesting pamphlets, rare books or Stores items see the FAQ.
Books in print:
- The Library’s collection of books on Albanian politics, political sociology, political movements, the history of political thought, nationalism and ethnic relations of Albania is located on the Lower Ground Floor of UCL SSEES Library at A.XII.
- Works by or about Albanian politicians are shelved at A.XII.a.
- Books covering sociology, social life, social history and socio-economics are located at A.XIX.
- Primary sources on Albanian history and politics can be found at A.VI.
Books with a STORES location can be requested either via Explore or from the Stores Service.
- Oxford Scholarship Online Cross-searchable library containing the full text of over 1,200 books from Oxford University Press, in the areas of Economics and Finance, History, Philosophy, Political Science and Religion.
See also the e-books available to members of UCL.
Bibliographies and catalogues
The National Library of the Republic of Albania provides on-line access to historical bibliographies of books
- Library Hub Discover replaces Copac and SUNCAT to give access to details of materials held in many UK national, academic and specialist libraries.
- Senate House Library: all UCL members can join, borrow books and access online resources remotely.
LSE: London School of Economic and Political Science library reference access only for undergraduates and taught postgraduates; borrowing for academic staff and research postgraduates.
The Bain Graffy Film Collection includes documentaries on Albanian History, Politics and Current Events.
For information about access rights and requesting audio-visual material, see the FAQ.
Streaming services available at UCL:
- BoB National (Box of Broadcasts): access to over a million programmes broadcast on 65+ free-to-air TV and radio channels, including the full BBC archive dating from 2007.
- Kanopy: over 26,000 feature films and documentaries worldwide, including some Albanian material.
Search aids, indexes and bibliographies
- Scopus: Comprehensive scientific, medical, technical, social science, and arts and humanities database containing references to journal articles, conference proceedings, trade publications, book series and web resources. Indexing and abstracting database.
- Web of Science: Multidisciplinary database that includes: the Science Citation Index, the Social Science Citation Index and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. The indexes cover thousands of journals and are a useful starting point for searching on many topics.
- JSTOR: Full-text archive of important scholarly journals.
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS): Index of literature in the social sciences and related subjects. This database focuses on the four core social science subjects of anthropology, economics, politics and sociology and provides comprehensive coverage of these, as well as selected material from cognate subject areas such as law, social policy and criminology.
- Social Sciences Citation Index to published literature in the social sciences. Also offers cited reference searching, enabling users to find out which other articles cite a particular article.
- Google Scholar is a service from the Google search engine which searches for articles from academic publishers, professional societies and pre-print archives.
Current awareness services
Current awareness services regularly alert registered users about new documents that match their research interests. The resources listed below offer current awareness services. The details of how to set these up vary between platforms; in most cases you need to set up an account and opt to receive alerts from your saved searches or specified journals.
- JournalTOCS: Largest free searchable collection of scholarly journal Tables of Contents (TOCs).
- Scopus: Can be set to alert you via e-mail or RSS feed when a new article that matches your search conditions is listed.
- Web of Knowledge: creating journal alerts lets you access your selected journals and opens the latest table of contents.
- Zetoc Alert: Current awareness service that sends you email alerts matching the search criteria that you have provided whenever new data is loaded into the database. The searches may be for particular journals, for authors and for keywords from the titles of articles and papers.
See also Guide to politics resources for SSEES students for further relevant resources.
The Political Science and Public Policy subject guide lists other general politics resources.