Skip to main content

Guide to Resources on Albania: History

General resources

Click on the button below to follow UCL SSEES Library on Twitter to keep up to date with new resources.

Follow UCL SSEES Library on Twitter

Albania - History

Book Collections

Search Explore to find UCL books/e-books and pamphlets on the history of Albania. For help and useful tips on how to search, see the guide to using Explore. For information about finding and requesting books, pamphlets, rare books or store items see our FAQ.

Books in print:

The Albanian collection is housed on the Lower Ground Floor of UCL SSEES Library. 

  • The section relating to the history of starts with the shelfmark A.IX.
  • Historical encyclopedias and dictionaries are to be found in section A.REF.

Books with a STORE location can be requested either via Explore or from the Stores Service.

Rare books: 

Material published before 1850 is kept in our Local Store and can be requested at the Library’s issue desk, see the FAQ. Historically important rare travel books from UCL SSEES Library Special Collections were digitised as part of the EU’s Europeana Travel project and include accounts of travel through Albania and the Balkan Peninsula before 1860.

E-book collections comprising books on history:

  • Oxford Scholarship Online Cross-searchable library containing the full text of over 1,200 books from Oxford University Press, in the areas of Economics and Finance, History, Philosophy, Political Science and Religion.

  • Early European Books Selected printed European works from before 1701, mostly in non-English European languages.

​See also the e-books available to members of UCL.

 

Journals and journal articles

Search journals and journal articles in Explore or in specialist databases available to members of UCL. For help and useful tips on how to search, see the guide to using Explore. For information on finding and requesting journals, journal articles or store items see our FAQ.

E-Journals with a focus on the modern history of Albania:

  • The Central and Eastern European Online Library (C.E.E.O.L.) is an online archive which provides access to full-text PDF articles from over 1000 humanities and social science journals and re-digitised documents pertaining to Central, Eastern, and South-Eastern European topics.  The database can be scoped to search for journals by subject or by country.
  • Also of interest East European newspapers published in Eastern Europe between 1835 and 1922.

Search UCL’s databases to find articles on Albanian history in international journals. 

The complete list of electronic journals available to members of UCL can be accessed via E-journals.

Printed journals are located on the Lower Ground Floor of the library. Journals with a STORES location can be requested either via Explore or from the Stores Service.

 

Archives

The Library holdings include archive collections relevant for the study of Bulgarian history. For information about access rights and requesting archives see our FAQ.

A selection of digitised archive material can be seen in the UCL SSEES Special Collections.

  •  CTR - Carter, Professor Frank (1964-2001): photographic slides taken by Professor Carter between 1964 and 2001 during his extensive travels around Eastern Europe; as well as slides of graphs, maps, archives and other historical data relating to cities and regions of Eastern Europe.

 

Maps

Historic maps from UCL SSEES Library Special Collections, digitised as part of the Europeana Travel project, include maps of Albania.

 

Audio-visual material

The Bain Graffy Film Collection contains documentaries on history. For information about access rights and requesting audio-visual material see our FAQ.

Streaming services available at UCL: 

  • BoB National (Box of Broadcasts): access to over a million programmes broadcast on 65+ free-to-air TV and radio channels, including the full BBC archive dating from 2007. Also includes some older, archival recordings.
  • Kanopy: over 26,000 feature films and documentaries worldwide, including some Bulgarian material.

 

Bibliographies and catalogues

 

Primary Sources

  • Euro Docs: Online sources for the history of Albania.

 

Search aids, indexes and bibliographies

  • Scopus: Comprehensive scientific, medical, technical, social science, and arts and humanities database containing references to journal articles, conference proceedings, trade publications, book series and web resources.  Indexing and abstracting database.
  • Web of Science:  Multidisciplinary database that includes: the Science Citation Index, the Social Science Citation Index and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. The indexes cover thousands of journals and are a useful starting point for searching on many topics.
  • JSTOR:  Full-text archive of important scholarly journals.
  • International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS): Index of literature in the social sciences and related subjects. This database focuses on the four core social science subjects of anthropology, economics, politics and sociology and provides comprehensive coverage of these, as well as selected material from cognate subject areas such as law, social policy and criminology.
  • Social Sciences Citation Index to published literature in the social sciences. Also offers cited reference searching, enabling users to find out which other articles cite a particular article.
  • Google Scholar is a service from the Google search engine which searches for articles from academic publishers, professional societies and pre-print archives.

 

Current awareness services

Current awareness services regularly alert registered users about new documents that match their research interests.  The resources listed below offer current awareness services. The details of how to set these up vary between platforms; in most cases you need to set up an account and opt to receive alerts from your saved searches or specified journals.

  • JournalTOCS: Largest free searchable collection of scholarly journal Tables of Contents (TOCs).
  • Scopus:  Can be set to alert you via e-mail or RSS feed when a new article that matches your search conditions is listed.
  • Web of Knowledge: creating journal alerts lets you access your selected journals and opens the latest table of contents.
  • Zetoc Alert:  Current awareness service that sends you email alerts matching the search criteria that you have provided whenever new data is loaded into the database. The searches may be for particular journals, for authors and for keywords from the titles of articles and papers.
  • History Online:  Information about internet resources for historians and about the history profession.

 

See also Guide to history resources for SSEES students for further relevant resources.

The History subject guide lists other general history resources.

 

Getting help

Suzana Tamamović

Area Liaison Librarian for

South East Europe

Telephone: 020 7679 8703

Email: s.tamamovic@ucl.ac.uk