Slovenia decriminalised same sex relationships in 1977, and since its independence from the Yugoslav Federation in 1991, it has introduced a number of provisions to safeguard LGBT rights. Though in some places it is still fighting discrimination, its membership in the EU has had a very positive impact on LGBT rights. Ljubljana, the capital city held its first Gay Pride in 2001. In February 2016 Parliament voted for recognition of same sex marriages. Gay and Lesbian couples are also allowed to adopt children. Ljubljana is a member of the Rainbow City Networks. In our guide you will find several publications completed in collaboration with this network.
History of Gay and Lesbian Movement in Slovenia in Slovenian Queer Resources Directory [in English].
An overview of rights and legal acts by ILGA Europe [in English].
Country ranking by ILGA Europe [in English].
The Ljubljana faculty of Social Sciences does not have a dedicated department to Queer Studies but the LGBTQ topics are researched at different faculties:
Faculty of Social Science, University of Ljubljana.
Gender Studies, University of Ljubljana.
Faculty of Arts, University of Ljubljana.
The Peace Institute – Institute for Contemporary Social and Political Studies is a private, independent, non-profit research institution founded in 1991. It develops interdisciplinary research, educational and awareness-raising activities in the areas of social science, humanities, anthropology and law, in five thematic fields: human rights and minorities, politics, media, gender and cultural policies.
Šori, I., Kuhar, R. (2017). Campaigning for equality : the frames of homophobia in Slovenia. Ljubljana : Ljubljana University Press. Full text is available on issuu.
Ayoub, P. (2016). When states come out : Europe's sexual minorities and the politics of visibility. (Cambridge studies in contentious politics). Cambridge : Cambridge University Press.
Bilić, B. (2016). LGBT activism and Europeanisation in the post-Yugoslav space : On the rainbow way to Europe. (Palgrave studies in European political sociology). Basingstoke : Palgrave Macmillan.
Kuhar, R., Kogovšek Šalamon, N., Humer, Ž., Maljevac, S. (2011). Obrazi homofobije. Ljubljana : Mirovni inštitut.
Švab, A., Kuhar, R. (2005). The unbearable comfort of privacy : the everyday life of gays and lesbians. Ljubljana : Peace Institute. Full text PDF in English / PDF in Slovene.
Kuhar, R., Takács, J., Magyar Tudományos Akadémia. Szociológiai Kutató Intézet, Mirovni inštitut, & Magyar Tudományos Akadémia. Szociológiai Kutatócsoport. (2007). Beyond the pink curtain : Everyday life of LGBT people in Eastern Europe. Ljubljana : Peace Institute.
Special issue of Sodobna pedagogika on Homosexuality and School [in English].
Lesbo - political, social and cultural review, successor of the fanzine Lesbozine [in Slovene].
Revolver - Roza klub's magazine for cultural and political issues. Revolver archive 1990-1996 [in Slovene].
Narobe - queer magazine. Narobe archive 2007 - 2016 [in Slovene].
Kuhar, Roman (2015). Konec je sveta, kakršnega poznamo. Časopis za kritiko znanosti, letnik 43, številka 260, str. 118-132.
Kuhar, R. Playing with science: Sexual citizenship and the Roman Catholic Church counter-narratives in Slovenia and Croatia. Women's Studies International Forum, March-April 2015, Vol.49, pp.84-92.
Kuhar, R., Švab, A.(2014). The Only Gay in the Village? Everyday Life of Gays and Lesbians in Rural Slovenia. Routledge Journal of Homosexuality.
Perger, N. (2018). LGBTIQ+ youth and experiences with violence in education. Ars & humanitas : revija za umetnost in humanistiko, letnik 12, številka 1, str. 88-103.
The Digital Library of Slovenia - provides access to a wide range of digital contents including scholarly publications and journal articles in fields of science, art and culture [in Slovene, English].
COBISS - one-stop access to Slovene libraries. Databases contain bibliographic records for different types of library resources: monographs, serials, articles and other materials, including researchers' bibliographies [in Slovene, English].
Slovenian Queer Resources Directory - contains a number of resources such as web pages of LGBT organisations, projects, film festivals, blogs and web pages [in Slovene].
Slovenia hate crime data by OSCE ODIHR [in English].
European LGBT Survey, 2012. FRA Europe [in English].
ECRI - Country monitoring in Slovenia. Reports, 1997 - 2019 [in English]
Life on the Margins: Survey Results of the Experiences of LGBTI People in Southeastern Europe. World Bank Group, September 2018 [in English]
Kuhar, R. Media Representation of Homosexuality. An Analysis of the Print Media in Slovenia, 1970 – 2000. The Peace Institute – Institute for Contemporary Social and Political Studies [in English].
Legal study on homophobia and discrimination on grounds of sexual orientation and gender identity. February 2008 – March 2010, Commissioned by FRA Europe [in English].
The social situation concerning homophobia and discrimination on grounds of sexual orientation in Slovenia. The Danish Institute for Human Rights, COWI, March 2009. Commissioned by FRA Europe [in English].
Meeting the challenge of accession Surveys on sexual orientation discrimination in countries joining the European Union. ILGA Europe Policy Paper, April 2004 [in English].
Legebitra - an NGO working in areas of social welfare, health, youth and awareness raising [in Slovene, English].
DIH - an NGO working towards better understanding, visibility, awareness and representation of LGBTQIA+ people and topics in order to fight discrimination and achieve equality and inclusion of LGBTQIA+ persons [in Slovene, English].
Društvo Parada Ponosa - The Pride Parade Association was founded in 2009 by the members of Slovenian LGBTIQ+ NGOs, as a result of the increasing scope of the Pride Parade in Ljubljana. Since its founding, the Association has organized 10 annual Pride Parades and accompanying cultural and political festivals [in Slovene, English].
Institute Transfeminist - Transfeminist Initiative TransAkcija Insitute enables support, informing, empowerment and alliance of transgender and gender non-conforming persons in Slovenia, and is the first and only non-govermental organization devoted to human rights of transgender persons the country [in Slovene, English].