Homosexual practices between consenting adults became decriminalized in 1961. Registered partnerships are available for same-sex couples since 2009, but marriage is banned. Adoption is possible for single persons, or married couples, but not for couples in civil partnership (i.e. same-sex couples). Discrimination on a basis of sexual orientation, or gender identity is banned in employment, housing, and military. It is legal in Hungary to change legal gender without gender reassignment surgery. There are several organisations advocating for LGBT rights in Hungary, the list can be found below.
Country ranking by ILGA Europe [in English].
Some research on LGBT is carried out in following institutions.
Faculty of Social Sciences and International Relations, Corvinus University of Budapest
Institute of Sociology, Corvinus University of Budapest
Faculty of Social Sciences, Eötvös Loránd University
Institute for Sociology, Hungarian Academy of Sciences
O'Dwyer, C. (2018). Coming out of communism : The emergence of LGBT activism in Eastern Europe.
Hanzli, P., Banach Nagy, M., & Halmai, B. (2015). Meleg férfiak, hideg diktatúrák : életinterjúk. Budapest : Civil Művek Közművelődési Egyesület.
Nádasdy, A. (2015). A vastagbőrű mimóza : írások melegekről, melegségről. Budapest : Magvető.
Csehy, Z. (2014). Szodoma és környéke : Homoszocialitás, barátságretorika és queer irányulások a magyar költészetben. Bratislava : Kalligram.
Fejes, N., & Balogh, A. (2012). Queer visibility in post-socialist cultures. Bristol : Intellect books.
Downing, Gillett, Downing, Lisa, & Gillett, Robert. (2011). Queer in Europe : Contemporary case studies. (Queer interventions). Farnham : Ashgate.
Takács Judit szerk. (2011) Homofóbia Magyarországon. Budapest : L’Harmattan Kiadó.
Adam, B., Duyvendak, Jan Willem, Krouwel, André, & Krouwel, Andrâe. (2009). Global Emergence Of Gay & Lesbian Politics. Philadelphia : Temple University Press.
Kuhar, R., Takács, J., Magyar Tudományos Akadémia. Szociológiai Kutató Intézet, Mirovni inštitut, & Magyar Tudományos Akadémia. Szociológiai Kutatócsoport. (2007). Beyond the pink curtain : Everyday life of LGBT people in Eastern Europe. Ljubljana : Peace Institute.
Takács Judit szerk. (2006) A lélek műtétei. Budapest : Új Mandátum Kiadó.
Takács Judit (2004) Homoszexualitás és társadalom. Budapest : Új Mandátum Kiadó.
Humen magazine - a literary, cultural, public and lifestyle magazine, and has been a gay-friendly intellectual forum since 2011 in the Hungarian press. Their Youtube channel, Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter accounts [in Hungarian, and English].
Full text online resources related to gender in Hungary from The European Institute for Gender Equality EIGE [multilingual].
Library of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences archive contains full-text publications of various research projects, including the ones on LGBT and gender [in Hungarian and English].
Akademiai kiado - search engine gives access to articles of open-source Hungarian academic journals, and to abstracts of other academic publications [in English].
Corvinus Research Archive - institutional repository for the Corvinus University of Budapest. It contains research produced by CUB staff, including journal articles, book chapters, books, working papers, conference papers [in English].
The Institute for Minority Studies of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences [in Hungarian and English].
Eötvös Loránd University's Digital Institutional Repository - a storage of documents and archives [in Hungarian and English].
The Electronic Periodicals Archive & Database (EPA) - an initiative of the Hungarian Electronic Library (MEK) aimed at creating a bibliographic database and register of the Hungarian e-periodicals and providing hosting services to certain ongoing resources. It is a good resource for material on LGBT and gender in Hungarian media [in Hungarian].
MATARKA - a search engine for Hungarian (academic) journals. Where possible, it provides direct links to articles. A good resource to browse publications on LGBT and gender topics [in Hungarian and English].
Hungarian Electronic Library is a good resource to browse publications on LGBT and gender topics [in Hungarian and English].
Hungaricana - Hungarian Cultural Heritage Portal search engine A good resource to browse publications on LGBT and gender topics [in Hungarian and English].
LGBT Archive and library - the website is currently under construction [in Hungarian and English].
LGBT - themed publication list hosted by Hatter [in Hungarian and English]
Hungary hate crime data by OSCE ODIHR [in English].
European LGBT Survey, 2012. FRA Europe [in English].
ECRI - Country monitoring in Hungary. Reports, 1997 - 2019 [in English].
A leszbikus, meleg, biszexuális és transznemű (LMBT) emberek társadalm i kirekesztettsége Magyarországon.Kutatasi Zarojelentes [in Hungarian].
Social Exclusion of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender (LGBT) People in Hungary. Research Report. Budapest: Institute of Sociology, HAS – Háttér Support Society for LGBT People in Hungary [in English].
The Situation of LGBT Families in Hungary [in English].
Az abortusz a magyar közvéleményben [in Hungarian].
Meeting the challenge of accession Surveys on sexual orientation discrimination in countries joining the European Union. ILGA Europe Policy Paper, April 2004 [in English].
A workshop Faced with multiple „values” - from the perspective of the Roma LGBTQI community [in Hungarian, English].
LGBT Literature and Film Database - the website is currently under construction [in Hungarian and English].
Labrisz is an initiative which, apart from providing social space, reflects on the social position of lesbian and bisexual women in an organized form. The website contains interesting archival material, information about projects and events, and a forum. Their Youtube channel [Hungarian, English]
The Hungarian LGBT Association [English]
Atlasz Sports Club was founded in 2004, with the goal of helping LGBTQ (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer) men and women athletes in an environment where they don't have to hide their identity [English]