HistoryPolitics and SociologyEconomics and BusinessLanguage, Literature and Culture
This is the "History" page of the "Guide to Resources on Slovakia" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Guide to Resources on Slovakia  

Last Updated: Sep 20, 2016 URL: http://libguides.ucl.ac.uk/slovakia Print Guide RSS Updates

History Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Resources

Click on the button below to follow UCL SSEES Library on Twitter to keep up to date with new resources

Follow UCLSSEESLibrary on Twitter

 

Guide to Resources on Slovakia: History

Books
Secondary sources on Slovak history are shelved on the First Floor of the Library. History is generally classified as Sk.IX. The collection covers the history of Slovakia excluding Czechoslovakia (1918-1992) which is a separate Cs. collection on the First Floor of the Library. Primary sources on Slovak history and politics are located on the First Floor of the library at Sk.VI. Books published before 1850 are generally kept in local store. They can be identified in Explore by the location SSEES Local Store and can be requested at the Library’s issue desk. Additionally some books are kept at the UCL store outside London. Their location is marked in Explore as Stores - SSEES Depository. These items can be requested by filling in the online store request form. For more information on requesting stores items see our FAQ page.

Some historically important rare travel books from UCL SSEES Library Special Collections were digitised as part of the EU’s Europeana Travel project and include accounts of travel through Hungary before 1860.

Several books containing material related to Slovakia can be accessed electronically using the following databases: 18th Century Collections Online, Early English Books Online, Oxford Scholarship Online, or ACLS Humanities E-Book. See also the Complete list of e-books available to members of UCL.

Journals and newspapers
The Library provides access to a range of Slovak journals and newspapers. Depending on the title they may be available in print, digital, microfilm or more than one format. Additionally a number of titles are kept in store outside London, and these can be recalled using the online store request form.

Printed editions of Slovak journals and newspapers are shelved on the Lower Ground Floor of the Library. The Library also provides access to a large number of digital journals and newspapers. For example, access is provided to complete editions of such key journals as: The Slavonic and East European Review, while some journals in Slovak language are available in digital format via CEEOL. Of interest may be the Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports transcribed and translated intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories, covering 1941-1996. More subject-specific electronic journals can be accessed via E-journals or databases available to members of UCL. For information on accessing electronic journals see our FAQ.  

Archives
The Library holdings include archive collections relevant for the study of Slovak and Czechoslovak history. Our holdings include Lisicky collection (1915-1948) related to the Munich agreement and Czechoslovak exile in London and materials from the Seton-Watson collection, such as Seton-Watson’s papers regarding Inter-War Slovakia. Robert William Seton-Watson played a prominent role in establishing the School of Slavonic Studies at Kings College in 1915 (later SSEES) and his archival collection is one of the most valuable amongst our archival resources. For information about access rights and requesting archives see our FAQ.

Maps
Historic maps from UCL SSEES Library Special Collections, digitised as part of the Europeana Travel project, include maps of Austria-Hungary dating from the 19th century back to 1490.

Audio-visual collection
The Library's Bain Graffy Film Collection includes a few documentaries on Slovak history, as well as history programmes recorded from Slovak TV and the BBC. The collection is available to UCL staff and students only. The items cannot be borrowed, but can be watched on-site in the Library. For information about requesting DVDs see our FAQ.

Other resources
For further help, please get in touch with:
Zuzana PinĨíková, Area Specialist for Central Europe
Email: z.pincikova@ucl.ac.uk

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip