Resources on Poland: HistoryResources on Poland: Politics and SociologyResources on Poland: Economics and BusinessResources on Poland: Language, Literature and Culture
This is the "Home" page of the "Guide to Resources on Poland" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Guide to Resources on Poland  

Last Updated: Oct 12, 2016 URL: http://libguides.ucl.ac.uk/poland Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Resources

Click on the button below to follow UCL SSEES Library on Twitter to keep up to date with new resources

Follow UCLSSEESLibrary on Twitter

 

Guide to Resources on Poland

The Polish collection at UCL SSEES Library reflects the main areas of research and interest of the School, with a focus on important scholarly resources on history, politics and sociology, economics and business, as well as language, literature and culture. It is of international importance and provides the basis for excellence in teaching and research of the School.

The collection consists of both digital resources (such as e-journals, e-books, databases, maps, etc.) and traditional resources, such as printed books and pamphlets, journals, newspapers, archives and  maps, as well as audio-visual material.

The collection is acquired in a variety of languages, as resources considered for acquisition depend not only on language, but also on the subject and source. The dominant language is Polish, followed by English.

The collection is generally strong and well-developed. For example in history it covers the whole period from the origins of the Polish state till the present day, and contains works by well-known Polish historians such as Henryk Wereszycki, Andrzej Paczkowski, Jerzy Michalski, Marian Kukiel and Antoni Czubiński. Politics and sociology is also well represented with works by such authors as Antoni Dudek, Andrzej Nowak, Jan Szczepański, Florian Znaniecki and Antonina Kłoskowska. Literature is also well represented by such authors as Adam Mickiewicz, Czesław Miłosz, Stanisław Lem and Witold Gombrowicz.

These holdings are complemented by digital and audio-visual resources. For example the CEEOL database offers access to a large number of Polish e-journals such as Studia Socjologiczne, Przegląd Humanistyczny or Kwartalnik Filmowy. Audio-visual resources offer access to a large number of Polish movies and documentaries that include such directors as Ryszard Bugajski, Stanisław Bareja, Andrzej Wajda, Agnieszka Holland, Jerzy Hoffman, Jerzy Kawalerowicz, Krzysztof Kieślowski and many others.

Additionally some of our special collections, such as maps and travel books have been digitised and now form a part of the Europeana digital Library. also see the latest additions to the library on the SSEES Library website for the polish collection.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip