RussiaCentral EuropeSouth East EuropeChina
This is the "Economics and Business Regional Data" page of the "UCL SSEES Library Guide to Economics & Business Data" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

UCL SSEES Library Guide to Economics & Business Data  

Last Updated: Sep 14, 2017 URL: http://libguides.ucl.ac.uk/economics/data Print Guide RSS Updates

Economics and Business Regional Data Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

ECONOMICS & BUSINESS REGIONAL DATA

 

Russia

  • Russia/NIS Statistical Publications
    A digital source for current data from Russia. Part of Eastview digital collection (available for UCL Staff and students, walk in access).
  • Datastream
    Financial information database, available on-site at UCL SSEES Library only. Coverage includes equity indexes, unit trusts, bonds, interest rates, exchange rates and commodities, with tools for exploring historical trends, and relationships between time series.
  • Economist Intelligence Unit 
    Full text of reports covering the political scene, economic policy, domestic economy, sectoral trends and foreign trade of each country, with detailed two-year political and economic forecasts. Full text of country profiles, covering a country’s economic and political status and background.
  • The Central Bank of the Russian Federation (statistics)
    “Publication of statistical data by the Bank of Russia is aimed at providing a wide range of users with credible, timely, consistent, publicly accessible information which underlies the Bank of Russia’s decisions on the monetary policy, the development and strengthening of the banking system, the development and promotion of stability of the financial market and the national payment system while being useful to economic agents at the time of decision making.
    The Section contains the Bank of Russia’s statistical data which comprehensively characterize relations between the residents of the country and non-residents, the role of the banking sector and non-bank financial institutions in the Russian economy, the status of the financial market and that of the national payment system, monetary operations and the methodology for their development. The information is represented on a nationwide scale and when applicable by federal district and constituent territory of the Russian Federation.” Description provided by The Central Bank of the Russian Federation."
  • Moscow Stock Exchange
    “Moscow Exchange provides exhaustive and convenient access to the Russian financial markets. The Exchange's markets offer clients trading opportunities across a diversified range of asset classes all combined with best-in-class post-trade services.”
  • Ministry of Economic Development of Russian Federation
    “The Ministry of Economic Development of the Russian Federation (Economy Ministry of Russia) is the federal executive body responsible for developing state policy and providing regulation in the sphere of analysis and forecasting of socioeconomic and business development, including medium-sized and small businesses, foreign economic activity (except for foreign trade), property relations, insolvency (bankruptcy) and financial recovery, evaluation activities, land-related transactions (except for agricultural lands), the State Register of Real Estate, state cadastral record-keeping and cadastral activity, state cadastral valuation of land, state monitoring of land (except for agricultural lands), state registration of rights to real estate, geodesy and cartography, state statistical activities, investment activities and state investment, development of interstate and federal target programs (long-term target programs), departmental target programs, development and implementation of programs for Russia’s socioeconomic development, creation and maintenance of special economic areas in the Russian Federation, management of state material reserves, placement of orders for the delivery of goods, and the performance of work and services for state and municipal purposes.”  
  • IMF
    The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an organization of 189 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world.
  • World Bank
    World Bank page on economy of Russian Federation.
  • OECD
    OECD page on economy of Russian Federation:
  • Trading Economics (Russia)
    “Trading Economics provides its users with accurate information including historical data, economic indicators, exchange rates, stock market indexes, government bond yields and commodity prices.”
  • UN development programme
    “UNDP programme in Russia focuses on environment and sustainable development addressing global environmental challenges - conservation of globally important biodiversity, climate change mitigation and resilience, sound management of international waters. The programme is based on the partnership with the Global Environment Facility and the Russian Government.”
  • Heritage
    “The Index of Economic Freedom is a helpful tool for a variety of audiences, including academics, policymakers, journalists, students, teachers, and those in business and finance.”
  • Russia in figures
    The handbook contains information on the socio-econonomic situation of Russia.
     It presents data characterizing the public structure of the Russian Federation, production and use of the Gross domestic product. Information is published on the population, its employment and money incomes. The handbook highlights problems of social sphere, results of R&D work and innovation activities, finances, investments, prices and tariffs. Some materials are dedicated to situation in organizations of different kinds of economic activities. Reffected are the external economic activities and information on the Balance of payments of the Russian Federation. Selected international comparisons are also given.
 

Central Europe

  • The database is available for use by UCL staff and students both on and off-site within the terms of the license agreements. Off-site users will need to login using their UCL username and passwords. It consists of comparable financial information containing comprehensive information on around 19 million public and private companies across Europe.
  • Datastream (Thomson Reuters)
    Financial information database, available on-site at SSEES Library only. Coverage includes equity indexes, unit trusts, bonds, interest rates, exchange rates and commodities, with tools for exploring historical trends, and relationships between time series.
  • Economist Intelligence Unit Country Reports and Profiles
    The database is available for use by UCL staff and students both on and off-site within the terms of the license agreements. Off-site users will need to login using their UCL username and passwords. The EIU DataServices portfolio comprises these global business databases: EIU Country data, EIU Market Indicators & Forecasts, EIU World Investment Service, EIU City Data, Combination of Country Data and Market Indicators.
  • Eurobarometer Surveys
    A series of public opinion surveys conducted regularly on behalf of the European Commission since 1973 on a wide variety of topical issues relating to the European Union throughout the EU Member States, such as attitudes towards European integration, institutions, policies, social conditions, health, culture, the economy, citizenship, etc.
  • EUROMOD Country Reports
    Country Reports document the way in which each country’s tax-benefit system is modelled, containing sections on the national tax-benefit system, the modelled tax-benefit instruments, with reference to EUROMOD parameter sheets; the micro-database and adjustments to the original data; a validation of baseline output in relation to other statistics.
  • EUROMOD Statistics
    Statistical data for 28 EU countries on the Distribution and Decomposition of Disposable Income providing estimates of income components (taxes and benefits) by household income decile group as well as inequality and poverty indicators before and after taxes and benefits and marginal effective tax rates.
  • European Central Bank Statistics 
    Data on euro area monetary policy, financial stability and the activities of the European System of Central Banks (ESCB) includingn key euro area indicators, exchange rates, monetary and financial statistics, monetary operations, balance of payments and other external statistics, financial integration indicators, macroeconomic and sectoral statistics.
  • European Data Portal
    A gateway offering access to data published by administrations in countries across Europe, from the EU and beyond. Portal provides access to over 415,000 data sets harvested from 70 catalogues in the EU28+. Data is collected from national, regional and local portals without excluding certain datasets.
  • European Economic Sentiment Indicator
    Monthly leading indicator data compiled by the European Commission (Directorate General for Economic and Financial Affairs) based on surveys of consumers and business managers in the euro area and the European Union.
  • European Election Database
    The European Election and Referendum Database provides election results on a regional level for European countries. The archive cover the period from 1990 until present and publishes results from parliamentary elections, European Parliament elections, presidential elections, as well as EU-related referendums for a total of 35 European countries.
  • European Social Survey
    The European Social Survey (ESS) is an academically driven cross-national survey that has been conducted across Europe since 2001. The survey measures the attitudes, beliefs and behaviour patterns of diverse populations in more than thirty nations. It is covering public trust; political interest and participation; political orientation; governance; political and social values; national, ethnic and religious allegiances; well-being, health and security; demographics and socio-economic variables...
  • European Union Labour Force Survey (Eurostat)
    The EU LFS is a large household sample survey conducted by the national statistical institutes across Europe and centrally processed by Eurostat. Survey provides quarterly results on labour participation of people aged 15 and over, living in private households. The data collection covers 28 Member States of the European Union, 2 candidate countries and 3 countries of the European Free Trade Association (EFTA) from 1983 onwards. In general, data for individual countries are available depending on their accession date.
  • European Union Open Data Portal
    The European Union Open Data Portal is the single point of access to a growing range of data from the institutions and other bodies of the European Union (EU). Data are free to use and reuse for commercial or non-commercial purposes.
  • European Values Study
    A large-scale, cross-national, and longitudinal survey research program on how Europeans think about family, work, religion, politics and society. Repeated every nine years in an increasing number of countries, the survey provides insights into the ideas, beliefs, preferences, attitudes, values, and opinions of citizens all over Europe.
  • Europe in Figures - Eurostat Yearbook
    Online compedium with an overview of information available on Eurostat’s website and within its online databases. It provides a balanced set of indicators, with a broad cross-section of information, covering all of the main areas in which official European statistics are available.
  • Eurostat Data  
    Official source for statistical data on the European Union and member states.
  • Eurostat Statistics Explained
    An official Eurostat website presenting statistical topics in an easily understandable way. Together, the articles make up an encyclopedia of European statistics for everyone, completed by a statistical glossary clarifying all terms used and by numerous links to further information and the latest data and metadata, a portal for occasional and regular users.
  • International Monetary Fund Data
    The IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators. Manuals, guides, and other material on statistical practices at the IMF, in member countries, and of the statistical community at large are also available.
  • OECD iLibrary
    The database is available for use by UCL staff and students both on and off-site within the terms of the license agreements. Off-site users will need to login using their UCL username and passwords. It contains data and documentation from the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development. 400 statistical series, 6,000 E-books and 3,000 working papers from 1960s to present. Platform includes data from the International Energy Agency (IEA); Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA); PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment) and the International Transport Forum (ITF). 
  • Principal European Economic Indicators
    Short-term economic and business cycle indicators for the EU and member states, issued monthly by the European Commission in the PEEI framework, with supplemental European business cycle data.
  • World Bank/Central Europe and the Baltics Data
    Statistics on development in countries around the globe, collated by the World Bank. Consists of a number of datasets including development indicators, debt statistics and trade logistics statistics.
  • The Governance group supports the collection, rigorous analysis, careful interpretation, and transparent dissemination of data for empirical research, capacity-building, and learning programs. The data and associated analysis and research does not necessarily reflect the views of the institution or its executive directors, and care needs to be exercised in its use and interpretation as per detailed description in each dataset. Some datasets are accessible for interactive interface with the web user as an 'e-learning' tool.
  • World Bank/Enterprise Surveys
    Enterprise Surveys provide the world's most comprehensive company-level data in emerging markets and developing economies. Business data are available on 130,000 firms in 135 countries
  • World Bank Group/Doing Business Data
    Doing Business offers economic data from 2003 to the present. The data is presented in a variety of ways useful to researchers, policy makers, journalists and others.
 

South East Europe

  • The database is available for use by UCL staff and students both on and off-site within the terms of the license agreements. Off-site users will need to login using their UCL username and passwords. It consists of comparable financial information containing comprehensive information on around 19 million public and private companies across Europe.
  • Datastream (Thomson Reuters)
    Financial information database, available on-site at SSEES Library only. Coverage includes equity indexes, unit trusts, bonds, interest rates, exchange rates and commodities, with tools for exploring historical trends, and relationships between time series.
  • Economist Intelligence Unit Country Reports and Profiles
    The EIU DataServices portfolio comprises these global business databases: EIU Country data, EIU Market Indicators & Forecasts, EIU World Investment Service, EIU City Data, Combination of Country Data and Market Indicators. It includes all SEE countries. The database is available for use by UCL staff and students both on and off-site within the terms of the license agreements. Off-site users will need to login using their UCL username and passwords.
  • Eurobarometer Surveys
    A series of public opinion surveys conducted regularly on behalf of the European Commission since 1973 on a wide variety of topical issues relating to the European Union throughout the EU Member States, such as attitudes towards European integration, institutions, policies, social conditions, health, culture, the economy, citizenship, etc.
  • EUROMOD Country Reports
    Country Reports document the way in which each country’s tax-benefit system is modelled, containing sections on the national tax-benefit system, the modelled tax-benefit instruments, with reference to EUROMOD parameter sheets; the micro-database and adjustments to the original data; a validation of baseline output in relation to other statistics. Includes reports for Bulgaria, Croatia, Romania and Slovenia.
  • EUROMOD Statistics
    Statistical data for 28 EU countries (including Bulgaria, Croatia, Romania, Slovenia) on the Distribution and Decomposition of Disposable Income providing estimates of income components (taxes and benefits) by household income decile group as well as inequality and poverty indicators before and after taxes and benefits and marginal effective tax rates.
  • European Central Bank Statistics 
    Data on Euro area monetary policy, financial stability and the activities of the European System of Central Banks (ESCB) including key Euro area indicators, exchange rates, monetary and financial statistics, monetary operations, balance of payments and other external statistics, financial integration indicators, macroeconomic and sectoral statistics.
  • European Commission AMECO Macroeconomic Data
    Annual macroeconomic database of the European Commission's Directorate General for Economic and Financial Affairs.The database contains data for EU-28, the Euro area, EU Member States, candidate countries and other OECD countries.
  • European Data Portal
    A gateway offering access to data published by administrations in countries across Europe, from the EU and beyond. Portal provides access to over 415,000 data sets harvested from 70 catalogues in the EU28+. Data is collected from national, regional and local portals without excluding certain datasets.
  • European Economic Sentiment Indicator
    Monthly leading indicator data compiled by the European Commission (Directorate General for Economic and Financial Affairs) based on surveys of consumers and business managers in the euro area and the European Union.
  • European Social Survey
    The European Social Survey (ESS) is a cross-national survey that has been conducted across Europe since 2001. The survey measures the attitudes, beliefs and behaviour patterns of diverse populations in more than thirty nations. It is covering public trust; political interest and participation; political orientation; governance; political and social values; national, ethnic and religious allegiances; well-being, health and security; demographics and socio-economic variables.
  • European Union Labour Force Survey (Eurostat)
    The EU LFS is a large household sample survey conducted by the national statistical institutes across Europe and centrally processed by Eurostat. Survey provides quarterly results on labour participation of people aged 15 and over, living in private households. The data collection covers 28 Member States of the European Union, 2 candidate countries and 3 countries of the European Free Trade Association (EFTA) from 1983 onwards.
  • European Union Open Data Portal
    The European Union Open Data Portal is the single point of access to a growing range of data from the institutions and other bodies of the European Union (EU). Data are free to use and reuse for commercial or non-commercial purposes.
  • European Values Study
    A large-scale, cross-national, and longitudinal survey research program on how Europeans think about family, work, religion, politics and society. Repeated every nine years in an increasing number of countries, the survey provides insights into the ideas, beliefs, preferences, attitudes, values, and opinions of citizens all over Europe, including all SEE countries.
  • Europe in Figures - Eurostat Yearbook
    Online compedium with an overview of information available on Eurostat’s website and within its online databases. It provides a balanced set of indicators, with a broad cross-section of information, covering all of the main areas in which official European statistics are available.
  • Eurostat Data  
    Official source for statistical data on the European Union and member states.
  • Eurostat Statistics Explained
    An official Eurostat website presenting statistical topics in an easily understandable way. Together, the articles make up an encyclopedia of European statistics for everyone, completed by a statistical glossary clarifying all terms used and by numerous links to further information and the latest data and metadata, a portal for occasional and regular users.
  • International Monetary Fund Data
    The IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators. Manuals, guides, and other material on statistical practices at the IMF, in member countries, and of the statistical community at large are also available.
  • OECD iLibrary
    The database is available for use by UCL staff and students both on and off-site within the terms of the license agreements. Off-site users will need to login using their UCL username and passwords. It contains data and documentation from the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development. 400 statistical series, 6,000 E-books and 3,000 working papers from 1960s to present. Platform includes data from the International Energy Agency (IEA); Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA); PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment) and the International Transport Forum (ITF). 
  • Principal European Economic Indicators
    Short-term economic and business cycle indicators for the EU and member states, issued monthly by the European Commission in the PEEI framework, with supplemental European business cycle data.
  • The Governance group supports the collection, rigorous analysis, careful interpretation, and transparent dissemination of data for empirical research, capacity-building, and learning programs. The data and associated analysis and research does not necessarily reflect the views of the institution or its executive directors, and care needs to be exercised in its use and interpretation as per detailed description in each dataset. Some datasets are accessible for interactive interface with the web user as an 'e-learning' tool.
  • World Bank/Enterprise Surveys
    Enterprise Surveys provide the world's most comprehensive company-level data in emerging markets and developing economies. Business data are available on 130,000 firms in 135 countries
  • World Bank Data Bank
    DataBank is an analysis and visualisation tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them.
  • World Bank Group/Doing Business Data
    Doing Business offers economic data from 2003 to the present. The data is presented in a variety of ways useful to researchers, policy makers, journalists and others.

 

Countries data

Albania

 Bosnia and Herzegovina

Bulgaria

Croatia

Kosovo

Macedonia

Montenegro

Romania

Serbia

Slovenia

 

China

  • ADB Statistical Database System
    Searchable database of essential social, economic, and financial indicators relates to Asian Development Bank's member countries.
  • Datastream (Thomson Reuters)
    Financial information database, available on-site at SSEES Library only. Coverage includes equity indexes, unit trusts, bonds, interest rates, exchange rates and commodities, with tools for exploring historical trends, and relationships between time series.
  • Doing Business in China (World Bank Group)
    Doing Business 2016 data for China: The first section presents the Ease of Doing Business rank (out of 189 economies) and the distance to frontier (DTF)** measure, overall and by topic. The second section summarizes the key indicators for each topic benchmarked against regional averages.
  • Economist Intelligence Unit Country Reports and Profiles
    The database is available for use by UCL staff and students both on and off-site within the terms of the license agreements. Off-site users will need to login using their UCL username and passwords. The EIU DataServices portfolio comprises these global business databases: EIU Country data, EIU Market Indicators & Forecasts, EIU World Investment Service, EIU City Data, Combination of Country Data and Market Indicators.
  • Global Insights/China
    Global Insights provides international business and trade information on over 200 countries, the 50 U.S. states, as well as nearly two dozen industry sectors, and many of the world’s trade blocs.
  • Hong Kong Monetary Authority
    Includes CMU Bond Price Bulletin, Economic & Financial Data for Hong Kong, Monthly Statistical Bulletin, Monetary Statistics.
  • International Monetary Fund Data/China
    The IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators. Manuals, guides, and other material on statistical practices at the IMF, in member countries, and of the statistical community at large are also available.
  • Index of Economic Freedom/China
    Index of Economic Freedom, an annual guide published by The Wall Street Journal and The Heritage Foundation, Washington's No. 1 think tank, covers 10 freedoms – from property rights to entrepreneurship – in 186 countries.
  • OECD iLibrary
    The database is available for use by UCL staff and students both on and off-site within the terms of the license agreements. Off-site users will need to login using their UCL username and passwords. It contains data and documentation from the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development. 400 statistical series, 6,000 E-books and 3,000 working papers from 1960s to present. Platform includes data from the International Energy Agency (IEA); Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA); PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment) and the International Transport Forum (ITF).
  • Penn World Tables
    Purchasing power parity and national income accounts for 189 countries from 1950-2007.
  • World Bank Data/China
    Statistics on Chinese development collated by the World Bank. Consists of a number of datasets including development indicators, debt statistics and trade logistics statistics.
  • World Bank/Governance & Anticorruption Data
    The Governance group supports the collection, rigorous analysis, careful interpretation, and transparent dissemination of data for empirical research, capacity-building, and learning programs. The data and associated analysis and research does not necessarily reflect the views of the institution or its executive directors, and care needs to be exercised in its use and interpretation as per detailed description in each dataset. Some datasets are accessible for interactive interface with the web user as an 'e-learning' tool.
  • World Bank/Enterprise Surveys
    Enterprise Surveys provide the world's most comprehensive company-level data in emerging markets and developing economies. Business data are available on 130,000 firms in 135 countries.
  • World Bank Group/Doing Business Data
    Doing Business offers economic data from 2003 to the present. The data is presented in a variety of ways useful to researchers, policy makers, journalists and others.
  • World Factbook CIA/China
    Information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues of 267 countries and other entities.
  • WTO
    Includes extensive information on the issues addressed by the Organization. Its online documents include annual and committee reports, formal notifications, guides, press release, and statistics.

 

Area Specialist

Zuzana Pinčíková
Area Specialist for Central Europe
Email address: z.pincikova@ucl.ac.uk
 
Wojciech Janik
Area Specialist for the Former Soviet Union and Poland
Email address: w.janik@ucl.ac.uk
 
Suzana Tamamović
Acting Area Specialist for South East Europe
Email address: s.tamamovic@ucl.ac.uk

 

@UCLSSEESLibrary

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip