In this Section
In this Guide
UCL SSEES Library Links
ECONOMICS & BUSINESS REGIONAL DATA
- ADB Statistical Database System
Searchable database of essential social, economic, and financial indicators relates to Asian Development Bank's member countries.
- China Economic Information Network
Economic news, forecasting and analysis, laws and regulations, statistic data and investment opportunities in China.
- Datastream (Thomson Reuters)
Financial information database, available on-site at SSEES Library only. Coverage includes equity indexes, unit trusts, bonds, interest rates, exchange rates and commodities, with tools for exploring historical trends, and relationships between time series.
- Doing Business in China (World Bank Group)
Doing Business 2016 data for China: The first section presents the Ease of Doing Business rank (out of 189 economies) and the distance to frontier (DTF)** measure, overall and by topic. The second section summarizes the key indicators for each topic benchmarked against regional averages.
- Economist Intelligence Unit Country Reports and Profiles
The database is available for use by UCL staff and students both on and off-site within the terms of the license agreements. Off-site users will need to login using their UCL username and passwords. The EIU DataServices portfolio comprises these global business databases: EIU Country data, EIU Market Indicators & Forecasts, EIU World Investment Service, EIU City Data, Combination of Country Data and Market Indicators.
- Global Insights/China
Global Insights provides international business and trade information on over 200 countries, the 50 U.S. states, as well as nearly two dozen industry sectors, and many of the world’s trade blocs.
- Hong Kong Monetary Authority
Includes CMU Bond Price Bulletin, Economic & Financial Data for Hong Kong, Monthly Statistical Bulletin, Monetary Statistics.
- Hong Kong Statistics
Major economic and social data of Hong Kong.
- International Monetary Fund Data/China
The IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators. Manuals, guides, and other material on statistical practices at the IMF, in member countries, and of the statistical community at large are also available.
- Index of Economic Freedom/China
Index of Economic Freedom, an annual guide published by The Wall Street Journal and The Heritage Foundation, Washington's No. 1 think tank, covers 10 freedoms – from property rights to entrepreneurship – in 186 countries.
Includes reports and surveys of Chinese markets.
- National Bureau of Statistics of China
Statistics related to China's economy, population, and society.
- OECD iLibrary
The database is available for use by UCL staff and students both on and off-site within the terms of the license agreements. Off-site users will need to login using their UCL username and passwords. It contains data and documentation from the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development. 400 statistical series, 6,000 E-books and 3,000 working papers from 1960s to present. Platform includes data from the International Energy Agency (IEA); Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA); PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment) and the International Transport Forum (ITF).
- Penn World Tables
Purchasing power parity and national income accounts for 189 countries from 1950-2007.
- The People's Bank of China
Provides access to statistics and surveys.
- Transparency International/Corruption Perceptions Index
First launched in 1995, the Corruption Perceptions Index has been widely credited with putting the issue of corruption on the international policy agenda.
- Transparency International/Global Corruption Barometer
Since its debut in 2003, the Global Corruption Barometer has surveyed the experiences of everyday people confronting corruption around the world.
- The United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database (UN Comtrade)
A repository of official trade statistics and relevant analytical tables. It contains annual trade statistics starting from 1962 and monthly trade statistics since 2010.
- World Bank Data/China
Statistics on Chinese development collated by the World Bank. Consists of a number of datasets including development indicators, debt statistics and trade logistics statistics.
- World Bank/Governance & Anticorruption Data
The Governance group supports the collection, rigorous analysis, careful interpretation, and transparent dissemination of data for empirical research, capacity-building, and learning programs. The data and associated analysis and research does not necessarily reflect the views of the institution or its executive directors, and care needs to be exercised in its use and interpretation as per detailed description in each dataset. Some datasets are accessible for interactive interface with the web user as an 'e-learning' tool.
- World Bank/Enterprise Surveys
Enterprise Surveys provide the world's most comprehensive company-level data in emerging markets and developing economies. Business data are available on 130,000 firms in 135 countries.
- World Bank Group/Doing Business Data
Doing Business offers economic data from 2003 to the present. The data is presented in a variety of ways useful to researchers, policy makers, journalists and others.
- Worldwide Governance Indicators (World Bank Data)
Aggregate and individual governance indicators for 215 countries and territories over the period 1996–2014, for six dimensions of governance.
- World Economic Forum - Reports
Global competitiveness reports, risk reports and more.
- World Factbook CIA/China
Information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues of 267 countries and other entities.
Includes extensive information on the issues addressed by the Organization. Its online documents include annual and committee reports, formal notifications, guides, press release, and statistics.
Area Specialist for Central Europe
Email address: email@example.com
Area Specialist for the Former Soviet Union and Poland
Email address: firstname.lastname@example.org
Area Specialist for South East Europe
Email address: email@example.com