HistoryPolitics and SociologyEconomics and BusinessLanguage, Literature and Culture
This is the "Politics and Sociology" page of the "Guide to Resources on Slovakia" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Guide to Resources on Slovakia  

Last Updated: Sep 20, 2016 URL: http://libguides.ucl.ac.uk/slovakia Print Guide RSS Updates

Politics and Sociology Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Resources

Click on the button below to follow UCL SSEES Library on Twitter to keep up to date with new resources

Follow UCLSSEESLibrary on Twitter

 

Guide to Resources on Slovakia: Politics and Sociology

Books
Books on Slovak Politics and Sociology are shelved on the First Floor of the Library. Politics is generally classified as Sk.XII, which covers politics, political sociology, political movements, history of political thought, political philosophy, nationalism and ethnicity. Sociology is largely classified as Sk.XIX and covers social life, social history and socio-economics. Not all the books are kept on the open shelves. For information about finding and requesting a pamphlet or other stores items see our FAQ. For e-books check the Complete list of e-books available to members of UCL.

Journals and newspapers
The Library provides access to a range of printed and digital journals and newspapers on Politics and Sociology. Depending on the title they may be available in print, digital, microfilm or in more than one format. Printed editions of journals and newspapers are shelved on the Lower Ground Floor of the Library.  Additionally a number of titles are kept in store outside London, and these can be recalled using the online store request form. The Library provides access to a number of digital journals and newspapers via UCL databases and E-journals available to members of UCL. Some subject specific journals in Slovak language can be accessed via CEEOL, a database of full-text articles from over 250 humanities and social science journals, electronic books and re-digitised documents. For example, access is provided to Studia Politica Slovaca or Sociológia - Slovak Sociological Review.

News sources
The Slovak daily newspapers in printed format Pravda, SME and Slovak Spectator are located on the Lower Ground Floor of the Library. Newspapers with Stores - SSEES Depository location can be requested using the online store request form.

The Library provides access to databases including news sources from Slovakia such as Nexis UK (LexisNexis Business and News) with access to news and company information (formerly provided as LexisNexis 'Executive'). The database sources include Slovakia This Week, Slovakia Today and Slovak Spectator. UCL username and password are required. BBC Monitoring Online provides access radio, television, news agencies, press and new media reports from open sources (from 1999 onwards). East View Online Databases: World News Connection - Archive includes newswires from SITA, Hospodárske Noviny, Pravda.sk, SME online.

Audio-visual collection
Documentaries on Slovakia: History, Politics, Current Events can be found in Bain Graffy Film Collection on the UCL SSEES Library website.

Other resources
For further help, please get in touch with:
Zuzana PinĨíková, Area Specialist for Central Europe
Email: z.pincikova@ucl.ac.uk

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip