Bulgaria - History
This is the "Guide to Resources on Bulgaria" page of the "Guide to Resources on Bulgaria" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Guide to Resources on Bulgaria  

Last Updated: Sep 14, 2017 URL: http://libguides.ucl.ac.uk/bulgaria Print Guide RSS Updates

Guide to Resources on Bulgaria Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Browse the Guide to Resources on Bulgaria

Guide to Library  Resources on Bulgaria
  History
  Politics and Sociology
  Economics and Business
  Language, Literature and Culture
Other SSEES Library Guides to Resources
 

General Resources

Click on the button below to follow UCL SSEES Library on Twitter to keep up to date with new resources

Follow UCLSSEESLibrary on Twitter

 

Help and Support

For queries and assistance with the Bulgarian Collection, please contact:

Suzana Tamamović

Area Specialist for South East Europe

Telephone: 020 7679 8711

Email: s.tamamovic@ucl.ac.uk

 

Guide to Resources on Bulgaria

The UCL SSEES Library  collections mirror the main areas of research and interest for the School with a focus on important scholarly resources on history, politics and sociology, economics and business, and language, literature and culture. They are of international importance and provide the basis for excellence in teaching and research of the School.

The collection on Bulgaria is to be found on the Lower Ground Floor of the Library, and covers the history, politics, economics, social sciences, culture, language and literature of the country. Books in the section start with the classmark B.

The majority of the collection consists of works in Bulgarian or English, although occasionally books may also be acquired in other European languages.

The Library subscribes to daily newspapers (e.g. Duma, Sofia Echo) as well as to scholarly serial publications originating from or pertaining to the area. Noteworthy periodicals include Bulgarska sbirka, Sofia, 1894-1915; Misul, Sofia, 1892-1907; Sbornik za narodni umotvoreniia, nauka i knizhnina, Sofia, 1889-; and Zlatorog, Sofia, 1920-1943.

The history section includes not only monographs but also volumes of the series of published sources Dokumenti za bulgarskata istoriia, Sofia, 1931- and Izvori za bulgarskata istoriia, Sofia, 1958-. Examples of contemporary source material includes Prebroiavane na naselenieto i zhilishtniia fond i zemedelskite stopanstva prez 2001 and Statisticheski godishnik = Statistical yearbook.

Some historically important and rare travel books including accounts of travel through  before 1860, and historic maps were digitised as part of the EU’s Europeana Travel project.

The Library holdings also include archive collections of interest in the study of  history.

An invaluable resource for UCL students and staff is being acquired in the Bain Graffy Film Collection. The  section of the collection contains documentaries on the country.  Where possible, copies with subtitles are obtained in order to open the collection to as wide an audience as possible.

For information about access rights and requesting audio-visual material see our FAQ.

 

For queries and assistance with the Bulgarian Collection, please contact:

Suzana Tamamović

Area Specialist for South East Europe

Telephone: 020 7679 8711

Email: s.tamamovic@ucl.ac.uk

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip