Albania - HistoryAlbania - Politics and SociologyAlbania - Economics and BusinessAlbania - Language, Literature and Culture
This is the "Guide to Resources on Albania" page of the "Guide to Resources on Albania" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Guide to Resources on Albania  

Last Updated: Aug 18, 2017 URL: http://libguides.ucl.ac.uk/albania Print Guide RSS Updates

Guide to Resources on Albania Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Resources

Click on the button below to follow UCL SSEES Library on Twitter to keep up to date with new resources

Follow UCLSSEESLibrary on Twitter

 

Help and Support

For queries and assistance with the Albanian Collection, please contact:

Suzana Tamamović

Area Specialist for South East Europe

Telephone: 020 7679 8711

Email: s.tamamovic@ucl.ac.uk

 

Guide to Resources on Albania

The UCL SSEES Library Albanian collections mirror the main areas of research and interest for the School with a focus on important scholarly resources on history, politics and sociology, economics and business, and language, literature and culture. They are of international importance and provide the basis for excellence in teaching and research of the School.

The collection on Albania is to be found on the Lower Ground Floor of the Library, and covers the history, politics, economics, social sciences, culture, language and literature of the country. Books in the  section have the classmark A. Books about Kosovo are shelved with the section Gen.Ju.Kos, although books by literary authors of Kosovan origin are shelved with other works of  literature. The majority of the collection consists of works in Albanian or English, although occasionally books may also be acquired in other European languages. Interest in Albania at the School was originally fostered by S.E. Mann, reader in the Czech and Albanian languages from 1961 to 1972. The Library's collection on Albanian history, language and literature includes Mann's dictionaries, grammar and outline of Albanian literature. Acquisitions in the field of Albanian studies have benefitted from support through funding linked to the bequest of Alex Nash (formerly Naçi, 1949-1995).

Some historically important and rare travel books  including accounts of travel through Albania before 18600, and historic maps were digitised as part of the EU’s Europeana Travel project. The Library holdings also include archive collections of interest in the study of Albanian. An invaluable resource for UCL students and staff is being acquired in the Bain Graffy Film Collection. The Albanian section of the collection contains feature films and documentaries.  Where possible, copies with subtitles are obtained in order to open the collection to as wide an audience as possible. For information about access rights and requesting audio-visual material see our FAQ.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip