Resources on Ukraine - HistoryResources on Ukraine: Politics and SociologyResources on Ukraine: Economics and BusinessResources on Ukraine: Literature and Culture
This is the "Resources on Ukraine: Literature and Culture" page of the "Guide to Resources on Ukraine" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Guide to Resources on Ukraine  

Last Updated: Jan 8, 2015 URL: http://libguides.ucl.ac.uk/ukraine Print Guide RSS Updates

Resources on Ukraine: Literature and Culture Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Resources

Click on the button below to follow UCL SSEES Library on Twitter to keep up to date with new resources

Follow UCLSSEESLibrary on Twitter

 

Guide to Resources on Ukraine: Literature and Culture

Books

The Library’s collection of books on Ukrainian literature and culture is shelved on the Second Floor of the Library and is generally classmarked as U.XXIV.7.  Art is classmarked as U.XX. The collection includes writings by classical and modern writers, such as Lesya Ukrainka or Taras Schevchenko, critical works about them, bibliographies, translations, collections of letters, monographs on specialised subjects such as relations with contemporaries, comparative studies. For detailed classification please see our classification scheme guide page. Search UCL books/e-bookson Russian literature and culture in Explore. For help and useful tips on how to search, see the guide to using Explore.

For information about finding and requesting a pamphlet, rare book or stores item see the FAQ.

 

Journals

Amongst other journals, the Library provides digital access to Literaturna Ukraina. Users might also be interested in the full digital archive of Literaturnaia Gazeta (from 1929 onwards) and Voprosy Literatury (from 1957 onwards) where many subjects of Ukrainian literature are raised. Search UCL e journal on Russian literature and culture in Explore. For help and useful tips on how to search, see the guide to using Explore.

Journals are shelved on the Lower Ground Floor of the Library.

 

Databases: UCL Library Services offers access to a wide range of databases directly or indirectly addressing Ukrainian topics. These databases include:

  • The YIVO Encyclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe: Encyclopedia of the history and culture of Jews in Eastern Europe, from the beginnings of their settlement in the region to the present. Covers arts, daily life, places, languages and literature, history and politics, and religion.
  • Historical Abstracts: Complete reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present.
  • Oxford Scholarship Online Cross-searchable library containing the full text of over 1,200 books from Oxford University Press, in the areas of Economics and Finance, History, Philosophy, Political Science and Religion.
  • Social Sciences Citation Index: 2,697 journals across 55 social science disciplines, as well as selected items from 3,500 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals.
  • Stalin Digital Archive: A collection of archival and secondary research documents that have previously only been available at the RGASPI archive in Russia.
  • East View Online Databases: Database of full-text newspaper articles, journal articles and government publications from Russia, plus newspaper articles from Central and Eastern Europe, Central Asia and the Caucasus.

It may be also useful to check the Guide to Resources on Russia as many resources cover Ukraine as well.


OTHER RESOURCES:

General resources on economics

Library staff also maintain a page of Internet resources on Ukraine

For further help, please get in touch with:

Wojciech Janik, Area Specialist for the Former Soviet Union and Poland

Email: w.janik@ucl.ac.uk

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip