Resources on Ukraine - HistoryResources on Ukraine: Politics and SociologyResources on Ukraine: Economics and BusinessResources on Ukraine: Literature and Culture
This is the "Resources on Ukraine - History" page of the "Guide to Resources on Ukraine" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Guide to Resources on Ukraine  

Last Updated: Jan 8, 2015 URL: http://libguides.ucl.ac.uk/ukraine Print Guide RSS Updates

Resources on Ukraine - History Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Resources

Click on the button below to follow UCL SSEES Library on Twitter to keep up to date with new resources

Follow UCLSSEESLibrary on Twitter

 

Guide to Resources on Ukraine: History

Books

Books on Ukrainian history are shelved on the Second Floor of the Library. History is generally classified as U.IX, for detailed classification see the UCL SSEES Library classification scheme guide. The History collection covers the whole history of Ukraine from the earliest times to the present. The collection includes various topics including Holodomor, the Chernobyl catastrophe, the Orange Revolution, etc.  Books published before 1850 are generally kept in our local store. They can be identified on the catalogue by the following: SSEES Local Store and can be requested at the Library’s issue desk. Additionally some less heavily-used books are kept at the UCL store outside London. Their location is marked as Stores - SSEES Depository. These items can be requested by filling in the online store request form For more information on requesting stores books see our FAQ page.

The Library also has a collection of Rare Books. One of our more valuable books is Evkhologīon published in 1646. Part of the collection, related to travel books, has been digitised as part of the Europeana Travel project and is available online.

Many books containing material related to Ukraine can be accessed electronically using the following databases: 18th Century Collections Online, Early English Books Online, Oxford Scholarship Online,  or ACLS Humanities E-Book. You can also browse the complete list of  UCL databases available to all members of UCL. Additionally you can search the UCL eBooks catalogue online. For information about finding and requesting a pamphlet, rare book or stores item see our FAQ

 

Journals and newspapers

The Library provides access to a range of Ukrainian and Ukraine-related journals and newspapers. Depending on the title they may be available in print, digital or microform format, or more than one format. Additionally a number of titles are kept in store outside London, and these can be recalled using the online form.

Printed editions of Ukrainian journals and newspapers are shelved  on the Lower Ground Floor of the Library. It should be noted however that the Library provides access to a large number of digital journals and newspapers. For example, access is provided to complete editions of such key journals as:  The Slavonic and East European Review, while Ukrains'kyi istorychnyi zhurnal is available in digital format from 2003 onwards. Of interest too may be the Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports transcribed and translated intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories, covering 1941-1996.

For information on finding and requesting an e-journal, e-journal article, printed journal, an article from a printed journal or a stores item see our FAQ

 

Archives

The Library holdings include archive collections relevant to the study of Ukrainian history, the guide to the archive collections is available on the SSEES website.These archives include such collections as Independent Political Movements in the USSR (1982-1991), or materials from the Seton-Watson collection, such as Seton-Watson’s papers regarding Inter-War Ukraine. Robert William Seton-Watson played a prominent role in establishing a School of Slavonic Studies at Kings College in 1915 (later SSEES) and his archival collection is one of the most valuable amongst our archival resources.

Audio-visual collection

The Library's Bain Graffy Film Collection  includes a large number of documentaries on Ukrainian history, as well as history programmes recorded from television. The collection is available to UCL staff and students only. The items cannot be borrowed, but can be watched on-site in the Library. The guide to the collection is available on the UCL SSEES Library Website.


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip