Resources on Recent History and Politics: Latvia
- CIS & Baltic Periodicals: Eastview
- CEEOL: Online archive of full-text articles from over 250 humanities and social science journals, electronic books and re-digitised documents pertaining to Central, Eastern and South-Eastern European topics. Also includes a directory of links to related websites.
- Emerging Europe Monitor: Central Europe & Baltic States: Political and economic analysis with specific asset class forecasts
Latvian s news aggregators:
- Baltic News Service (BNS): News from the BNS agency based in the Baltic states of Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania. Distributes around 1,000 news items daily in Estonian, Latvian, Lithuanian, Russian and English.
- Intellinews - Baltic States Today (via LexisNexis)
- Esmerk Latvia News - (via LexisNexis)
- News Bites – Baltic (via LexisNexis): Covers the Stock Exchanges in Latvia, Lithuania and Estonia.
Books on Latvian history and politics are shelved on the Lower Ground Floor. The collection includes books by such prominent Latvian politicians as Valdis Dombrovskis, Vaira Vīķe-Freiberga and Guntis Ulmanis. The following sections might be particularly relevant: La.IX.f for 1991 onwards; R.IX.f.2 for relations between Russia and former Soviet republics 1991 onwards. Some books on the wider Baltic region can be found in the General Baltic section (Gen.Balt.). Additionally the Miscellaneous section (Misc.) may include books on broader EU aspects with a Latvian/Baltic context. The Miscellaneous collection is shelved on the First Floor of the Library.
JOURNALS & NEWSPAPERS:
UCL SSEES Library journals and newspapers covering/related to Latvia are kept on the Lower Ground Floor in alphabetical order. An example would be the Journal of Baltic studies, or the Baltic Times which is available online from 2002 onwards.
Please also check our growing number of online resources covering journals and newspapers.
General databases on recent history and politics
Library staff also maintain a page of Internet resources on Latvia