Resources on Estonia - Recent Resources
Online Resources on recent history and politics:
- CIS & Baltic Periodicals: Eastview
- CEEOL: Online archive of full-text articles from over 250 humanities and social science journals, electronic books and re-digitised documents pertaining to Central, Eastern and South-Eastern European topics. Also includes a directory of links to related websites.
- Emerging Europe Monitor: Central Europe & Baltic States - Political and economic analysis with specific asset class forecasts
JOURNALS NOT INCLUDED IN THE ABOVE DATABASES:
NEWS: Estonian news (news aggregators):
- Baltic News Service (BNS): News from the BNS agency based in the Baltic states of Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania. Distributes around 1,000 news items daily in Estonian, Latvian, Lithuanian, Russian and English.
- The Estonian Review (weekly published by Estonian Foreign Ministry)
BOOKS: Books on Estonian history and politics are housed on the Lower Ground Floor. The collection includes books by prominent Estonian politicians such as Maart Laar, Lennart Meri and Toomas Hendrik Ilves. The following section might be particularly relevant: E.IX.f 1991- onwards.
Relations between Russia and former Soviet republics 1991- use R.IX.f.2. Example of books:
- Russia's European agenda and the Baltic States by Janina Šleivytė
- Rossiia i pribaltiiskie strany : sbornik dokumentov i materialov (1991-2007) compiled by I.I. Klimin
Books regarding the wider Baltic region can be found in the General Baltic section (Gen.Balt.). Example of books
- The politics of energy and memory between the Baltic states and Russia by Agnia Grigas
- Identity and foreign policy : Baltic-Russian relations and European integration edited by Eiki Berg and Piret Ehin
Additionally the Miscellaneous section (Misc.) may include books on broader EU aspects with an Estonian/Baltic context. An example of such a book would be The politics of becoming European : a study of Polish and Baltic post-Cold war security imaginaries by Maria Mälksoo. The Misc. collection is available on the First Floor of the Library.
JOURNALS and NEWSPAPERS: UCL SSEES Library journals and newspapers covering Estonia are kept on the Lower Ground Floor in alphabetical order. An example would be the daily newspaper Eesti Päevaleht or the Journal of Baltic Studies. Please also check our growing number of online resources for journals and newspapers.
General databases on recent history and politics (Guide in progress)