List of Resources
Primary resources - Data-rich source material, factual, raw data with little or no commentary or interpretation – e.g. Amadeus, ESDS, OECD iLibrary, Passport GMID, Datastream, national statistical databases
- Amadeus: Comprehensive information on over 20 million companies across Europe. You can research individual companies, search for companies with specific profiles and for analysis.
- ESDS: Key UK economic and social data, both quantitative and qualitative, spanning many disciplines and themes. ESDS provides access and support for an extensive range of key economic and social data, both quantitative and qualitative. Includes international data from the EU, IMF, OECD, UN, World Bank and other NGOs, and UK Government surveys and panel data. Some electronic resources require you to register with the Economic and Social Data Service before you can access the resource. Registration required and free.
- OECD iLibrary: Publications and statistics from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. OECD iLibrary is the publication portal of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), an online service that provides access to OECD books by theme, periodicals, working papers and statistical databases.
- Passport: Euromonitor International's global market analysis software platform, that analyses industry in countries around the world. It provides industry-specific data sets, coverage of relevant channels and products, long historic and forecast data series, and reports by local analysts analysing the characteristics of countries. You will need to log in with your UCL username and password to access the site.
- Datastream (Thomson Reuters): Datastream provides international financial, economic, stock market and company data. It includes coverage of equities, stock market and bond indices, economic statistics, foreign exchange rates, interest rates, fixed income instruments and derivatives. There is no networked or off-campus connection to this database. The only access point for this database in UCL, is in the Multi-Media Room at UCL SSEES Library.
- Eurostat: The statistical arm of the European Union. Eurostat provides statistics at European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions and offers a whole range of data aimed at governments, businesses, the education sector, and journalists.
- European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD): financial investor from central Europe to central Asia and the southern and eastern Mediterranean, owned by 64 countries, the European Union and the European Investment Bank. It publishes macro-economic and structural data series as well as survey data pertaining to EBRD's 29 countries of operation.
- IMF: The IMF publishes data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators. Manuals, guides, and other material on statistical practices at the IMF, in member countries, and of the statistical community at large are also available.
- World Bank: Access to World Bank data e.g. World Development Indicators, International Debt Statistics.
Secondary resources - Commentary and analysis of raw data, news and current affairs e.g. Nexis UK, The Economist, Financial Times, Economist Intelligence Unit Country Reports and Profiles, BBC Monitoring - Russia and Europe can be searched via UCL Databases by selecting the database from the list of databases.
- Nexis UK: Full-text UK and international newspaper articles, and company information.The Financial Times is also available via Nexis UK
- The Economist & The Financial Times: The Economist is accessible online back to 2008. You can search full-text for keywords, or browse the content of specific issues. FT.com is also available (register for personalised functionality). This provides access to ePapers of all five regional editions of The Financial Times with an archive back to 2004, Lex (opinion on topics in the news and broader impacts), special reports, markets data and mobile access.
- Economist Intelligence Unit Country Reports and Profiles: Full text of reports covering the political scene, economic policy, domestic economy, sectoral trends and foreign trade of each country, with detailed two-year political and economic forecasts. Full text of country profiles, covering a country’s economic and political status and background, revised annually. Access only to reports and profiles of countries studied at UCL SSEES.
- BBC Monitoring (Russia and Europe): Reports from radio, television, news agencies, press and new media that provide a foreign news and information service (from 1999 onwards). UCL access is to sources from Russia and East, Central, and Southern Europe only. Username and password required. Contact SSEES Library staff for details.