About the CollectionHistoryEconomics and BusinessPolitics and SociologyLanguage, Literature and Culture
This is the "Language, Literature and Culture" page of the "Guide to Resources on Hungary" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Guide to Resources on Hungary  

Last Updated: Sep 20, 2016 URL: http://libguides.ucl.ac.uk/hungary Print Guide RSS Updates

Language, Literature and Culture Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Resources

Click on the button below to follow UCL SSEES Library on Twitter to keep up to date with new resources

Follow UCLSSEESLibrary on Twitter

 

Resources on Hungary - Language, Literature and Culture

Book Collections

Search UCL books/e-books and pamphlets on Hungarian language, literature and culture in Explore. For help and useful tips on how to search see the guide to using Explore. For information about finding and requesting pamphlets, rare books or store items see the FAQ.

  • Books in print

Books covering Hungarian arts are located on the First Floor of the Library at H.XX, including books on Hungarian film and theatre at H.XX.4. Works on Hungarian language are located at H.XXIII, including grammars and course books at H.XXIII.4. Hungarian literary works are arranged alphabetically according to the authors at H.XXIV.7. Art books are shelved separately at H.XX.3.

 Books with a STORE location can be requested via the Stores Service.

For e-books check the Complete list of e-books available to members of UCL.

 

Journals and journal articles

Search journals and journal articles in Explore or in specialist databases available to members of UCL. For help and useful tips on how to search see the guide to using Explore. For information on finding and requesting journals, journal articles, or store items see the FAQ.

  •  E-Journals with a focus on Hungarian language, literature and culture:

Magyar nyelvőr - a journal of the Hungarian language published by the Hungarian Academy of Sciences. UCL Library Services provide online access from 1999 to the present.

Hungarian Review - a journal affiliated with the bi-monthly journal Magyar Szemle, published since 1991. UCL Library Services provide online access from 2010 to the present.

More subject-specific journals can be accessed via E-journals available to members of UCL or the Central and Eastern European Online Library - an online archive of full text articles from over 250 humanities and social science journals, electronic books and re-digitised documents.

Search UCL’s databases to find articles on Hungarian language, literature, theatre, cinema, art in international journals.

  • Printed journals such as Magyar Nyelv, Literatura, Helikon, Kortárs,… are located on the Lower Ground Floor of the Library. Journals with a STORE location can be requested via the Stores Service.

 

Audio-visual material

The Library’s film and video collection is one of the biggest collections of Russian, Central and Eastern European film in the UK. It covers Hungarian feature films and documentaries, dating back to 1950s, including films produced during the communist period by Zoltán Huszárik, Miklós Jancsó, Károly Makk, Márta Mészáros, István Szabó, János Szász, Béla Tarr, and others.

For a detailed description of the films and documentaries available to members of UCL, see the Bain Graffy Film Collection. For information about access rights and requesting audio-visual material see the FAQ.

Language learning material

Library provides a variety of materials supporting Hungarian language teaching and learning, including practice materials and complete course books, such as Colloquial Hungarian,  with audio-visual components for the development of all skills.

Search audio-visual material in Explore. For information about access rights and requesting audio-visual material see the FAQ.

 

Internet Resources

Digitális Irodalmi Akadémia - digital library containing works of contemporary Hungarian authors (in Hungarian)

EUscreen - videos, images, text and audio from European broadcasters and audio-visual archives ranging from the early 1900s to the present day

Europeana - a single access point to Europe's digital resources

Hungarian Literature Online

Fine Arts in Hungary

NAVA (National Audio-visual Archive of Hungary)

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip