About the CollectionHistoryEconomics and BusinessPolitics and SociologyLanguage, Literature and Culture
This is the "Politics and Sociology" page of the "Guide to Resources on Hungary" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Guide to Resources on Hungary  

Last Updated: Sep 20, 2016 URL: http://libguides.ucl.ac.uk/hungary Print Guide RSS Updates

Politics and Sociology Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Resources

Click on the button below to follow UCL SSEES Library on Twitter to keep up to date with new resources

Follow UCLSSEESLibrary on Twitter

 

Resources on Hungary - Politics and Sociology

Journals and journal articles

Search journals and journal articles in Explore or in specialist databases available to members of UCL. For help and useful tips on how to search see the guide to using Explore. For information on finding and requesting journals, journal articles or store items see the FAQ.

  •  E-Journals with focus on Hungarian politics and sociology:

CEU Political Science Journal - a quarterly journal published by the CEU Department of Political Science. UCL Library Services provide online access from 2006 to the present.

Corvinus Journal of Sociology and Social Policy - a peer-reviewed journal, published by the Corvinus University of Budapest, semi-annually. It publishes original academic articles, research notes, and reviews from sociology, social policy and related fields in English. UCL Library Services provide online access from 2010 to the present.

Politikatudományi Szemle - a quarterly review of political science published by the Hungarian Academy of Sciences. UCL Library Services provide online access from 2010 to the present.

More subject-specific journals can be accessed via E-journals available to members of UCL or the Central and Eastern European Online Library - an online archive of full text articles from over 250 humanities and social science journals, electronic books and re-digitised documents.

         Search UCL’s databases to find articles on Hungarian politics and sociology in international journals.

  • Printed journals such as Foreign Policy Review, Allám és Jogtudomány,… are located on the Lower Ground Floor of the Library. Journals with a STORE location can be requested either via Explore or from the Stores Service.

 

News sources

Search Explore or specialist databases available to members of UCL to find Hungarian news sources. For help and useful tips on how to search see the guide to using Explore. For information about finding and requesting newspapers, microfilm/microfiche or store items see the FAQ

  • Databases covering Hungarian news sources:

Nexis UK (LexisNexis Business and News) - Database of news and company information (formerly provided as LexisNexis 'Executive'). The database sources include newspapers: Intellinews - Hungary This Week, Intellinews - Hungary Today, Budapest Business Journal, and newswires: Hungarian Official News Digest, Hungary Business Newswire, MTI Econews.

Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports - Transcribed and translated intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories, covering 1941-1996.

  • Printed newspapers

Hungarian daily newspapers Magyar Hírlap, Magyar Nemzet, Magyar Szó, Népszabadság are located on the Lower Ground Floor of the Library. Newspapers with a STORE location can be requested either via Explore or from the Stores Service.

Book Collections

Search Explore for UCL books/e-books and pamphlets on Hungarian politics and sociology. For help and useful tips on how to search see the guide to using Explore. For information about finding and requesting pamphlets, rare books or store items see the FAQ.

  • Books in print

The Library’s collection of books on Hungarian politics, political sociology, political movements, history of political thought, nationalism and ethnicity is located on the First Floor of the Library at H.XII. Works by or about Hungarian politicians are shelved at H.XII.a. Books covering sociology, social life, social history and socio-economics are located at H.XIX. Primary sources on Hungarian history and politics can be found at H.VI.

         Books with a STORE location can be requested either via Explore or from the Stores Service.

         For e-books check the Complete list of e-books available to members of UCL.

 

Audio-visual material

The Bain Graffy Film Collection includes documentaries on Hungarian politics. For information about access rights and requesting audio-visual material see the FAQ.

 

Internet Resources

Digital Parliamentary Database - digitised sources of law, books, parliamentary documents, law periodicals. Works in the public domain are made freely accessible. Copyrighted works may be viewed only in the Országgyűlési Könyvtár (Parliamentary Library).

Visegrad Digital Parliamentary Library: Hungary

TÁRKI Data Archive - the national social science archive operated by TÁRKI Joint Research Centre.

Voices of the 20th Century Archive - digital archive of the Hungarian qualitative sociological knowledge heritage.

 

The Political Science and Public Policy  subject guide lists further relevant general resources

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip