Resources on Russia - Language, Literature and Culture
The Library has a very extensive collection of books on Russian literature and culture. They are located on the Second Floor of the Library and are generally classmarked as R.XXIV.7. Art books have the classmark R.XX, while the Russian cinema collection can be found at R.XX.4.c. The literature collection includes writings by classical and modern writers, critical works about them, bibliographies, translations, collections of letters, monographs on specialised subjects such as relations with contemporaries, comparative studies, etc. The Art collection includes works on such prominent artists as Kandinsky, Rodchenko, Rublev, etc. The Cinema collection covers Eisenstein, Tarkovsky, Mikhalkov, etc.
For information about finding and requesting a pamphlet, rare book or stores item see the FAQ.
Among the journals collected, the Library provides access to the full digital archive of Literaturnaia Gazeta (from 1929 onwards) and Voprosy Literatury (from 1957 onwards) and Sovetskaia Kul'tura (from 1931) . The Library provides digital access to various journals on Russian Literature including: Novoe literaturnoe obozrenie, Russkaia literatura and Dostoevskii: Materialy i issledovaniia.
You can search for e-journals on Explore. The printed journals are shelved on the Lower Ground Floor of the Library.
- Cult of the Body - Primary sources covering sporting and physical culture in Russia in the early twentieth century (1891-1919).
- The YIVO Encyclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe - Encyclopedia of the history and culture of Jews in Eastern Europe, from the beginnings of their settlement in the region to the present. Covers arts, daily life, places, languages and literature, history and politics, and religion.
- Imperial Russia's Illustrated Press - Online versions of five illustrated weeklies from late Imperial Russia. Iskry (1900-1917), Sinii Zhurnal (1910-1918), Zhivopisnaia Rossiia (1901-1905), Russkaia illustratsiia (1915), and Vseobshchii Zhurnal (1910-1912), illuminating Russian cultural, social, and political life.
- Mass Media in Russia - Complete runs of the kopeck (penny) newspapers, the most widely circulated newspapers in Russia at the beginning of the twentieth century (1908-1918).
- Popular Literature, Fiction and Songs in Imperial Russia - The collection of ca. 200 titles illustrates the chief genres of Russian popular literature originating in the early nineteenth century.
- Russian Anarchist Periodicals - Collection of newspapers and journals published by the most radical political forces in Russia in the early 20th century.
- Russian Theater in the Early 20th Century - The collection of theatre periodicals provides a detailed picture of metropolitan and provincial Russian theatre, and reflects the cultural life in Russia at the turn of the 20th century.
- Screen and Stage - Periodicals from the Russian Cinematographic and Theatre Press, 1889-1919, covering film, theatre and other forms of entertainment and mass culture in pre-revolutionary Russia.
- Early Russian Cinema - Russian Cinematographic Press (1907-1918). The collection includes sophisticated, bimonthly periodicals as well as more popular weeklies released by the major Russian film studios.
- Soviet Cinema - The collection includes Soviet film magazines and newspapers (1918 – 1942), reflecting the most interesting and fertile period in the history of Russian film.
- Soviet Cinema. Archival Documents - Documents from the period 1923-1935 when state monopoly control over the Soviet cinema industry was being established.
- Iskusstvo Kino Digital Archive (1931 – onwards). Leading journal of Russian cinema critics. Publishes reviews of contemporary Russian and foreign movies, articles on history and theory of Russian and world cinema as well as general essays on Russian culture and arts.
Audio Visual collections
The Library’s Bain Graffy Film Collection is one of the biggest collections of Russian, Central and Eastern European film in the UK. It covers Soviet/Russian feature films, animations and documentaries. Titles of Russian, Soviet and CIS Feature Films, Television Films and Television Serials are listed chronologically, or by director. There are also indexes featuring Literary Adaptations from Russian, CIS, Central and East European Sources and Feature Films from other countries on Russian, Central and East European Subjects, and films made in other countries by Directors originally from Russia, the CIS or Central and Eastern Europe.