About the CollectionHistoryPolitics and SociologyEconomics and BusinessLiterature and Culture
This is the "Politics and Sociology" page of the "Guide to Resources on Russia" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Guide to Resources on Russia  

Last Updated: Oct 12, 2016 URL: http://libguides.ucl.ac.uk/russia Print Guide RSS Updates

Politics and Sociology Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Resources

Click on the button below to follow UCL SSEES Library on Twitter to keep up to date with new resources

Follow UCLSSEESLibrary on Twitter

 

Resources on Russia - Politics and Sociology

Books collection

Russian Politics and Sociology books are located on the Second Floor of the Library. Russian politics  is generally classified as R.XII, which covers politics, political sociology, political movements, histories of political thought, political philosophy, nationalism and ethnicity. Sociology is largely classified as R.XIX and covers social life, social history and socio-economics. Political sociology is classified as R.XII. Not all the books are kept on the open shelves. They can be recognised by the following catalogue location: SSEES Local Store and can be requested at the Library’s issue desk. Additionally some less heavily used books are kept at our store outside London. Their location is marked as Stores - SSEES Depository. These can be requested by filling in an online form. For more information on finding and requesting a pamphlet or store item see the FAQ.

Journals and newspapers

The Library provides access to a wide range of printed and digital journals and newspapers on Politics and Sociology. Depending on the title, they may be available in print, digital or microform format, or more than one format. Additionally a number of titles are kept at the UCL Store outside London, and these can be recalled using the online form  Printed versions of journals and newspapers are stored on the Lower Ground Floor of the Library. It should be noted, however, that the Library provides access to a very large number of digital journals and newspapers and it may be easier and more convenient to access them this way. For example, access is provided to complete editions of such key journals as: Social Sciences, Mezhdunarodnaia zhizn', and Rossiia v global'noi politike. Additionally access is provided to the full digital archive of International Affairs (since 1955 onwards), Current Digest of the Russian Press formerly The Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press (1949 onwards) or Argumenty i Fakty  (1983 onwards). Vast numbers of Russian newspapers are available online: central newspapers, including Izvestiia, Vedomosti, Kommersant, Novaia Gazeta, Zavtra   and regional newspapers, ranging from Altaiskaia Pravda to Zvezda.

News sources

The Library provides access to various news sources from Russia. Russian/NIS Newswires database provides access to nine sources to follow day-to-day developments in Russia.  BBC Monitoring Online provides access to reports from radio, television, news agencies, press and new media, providing a distinctive foreign news and information service from open sources (from 1999 onwards). Username and password required -contact SSEES Library staff for details. Labyrinth provides 25,000 biographies of Russian politicians, officials and business people.

Audiovisual collection

Documentaries on Russia and the CIS: History, Politics, Current Events are available in the Bain Graffy Film Collection.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip