About the CollectionHistoryPolitics and SociologyEconomics and BusinessLiterature and Culture
This is the "History" page of the "Guide to Resources on Russia" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Guide to Resources on Russia  

Last Updated: Oct 12, 2016 URL: http://libguides.ucl.ac.uk/russia Print Guide RSS Updates

History Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Resources

Click on the button below to follow UCL SSEES Library on Twitter to keep up to date with new resources

Follow UCLSSEESLibrary on Twitter

 

Resources on Russia - History

Books and eBooks

The Russian history book collection is located on the Second Floor of the Library. History is generally classified as R.IX. The History collection covers the whole history of Russia from earliest times to the present. The collection includes various topics including the Decembrist movement, the Napoleonic wars, the Russian Revolution, Stalinism, Perestroika, etc. Books published before 1850 are generally kept in our local store. They can be recognised by the following catalogue location: SSEES Local Store and can be requested at the Library’s issue desk. Additionally some less heavily used books are kept at our store outside London. Their location is marked as Stores - SSEES Depository. These can be requested by filling in an online form. For more information on requesting books see our FAQ page.

  • Rare Books

The Library also has a collection of Rare books. One of our more valuable books is Ulozhenie Tsara Aleksiea Mikhaiklovicha published in 1649. Part of the collection, related to travel books, has been digitised as part of the Europeana project and is available online.

  • E-Books

Many books that might be related to Russia can be accessed electronically using the following databases: 18th Century Collections Online,  Early English Books Online, Oxford Scholarship Online,  or ACLS Humanities E-Book. Additionally you can search the UCL eBooks catalogue.

For information about finding and requesting a pamphlet, rare book or stores item see the FAQ.

Journals, newspapers and e-publications:

The Library provides access to a wide range of Russian and Russian-related journals and newspapers. Depending on the title they may be available in print, digital or microform format, or in more than one format. Additionally a number of titles are kept at the UCL Store outside London, and these can be recalled using the online form.

Printed versions of Russian journals and newspapers are stored on the Lower Ground Floor of the Library. It should be noted however that the Library provides access to a very large number of digital journals and newspapers. For example, access is provided to complete editions of such key journals and newspapers as:  Voprosy Istorii, The Slavonic and East European Review, Pravda, Izvestiia and Vestnik Evropy. One of our recent acquisitions is satirical magazine Krokodil, available digitally since 1922. Of interest may be also the Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports - transcribed and translated intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories, covering 1941-1996.

For information on finding and requesting an e-journal, e-journal article, printed journal, an article from a printed journal or a stores item see the FAQ.

Archives

The Library’s holdings include archive collections relevant to the study of Russian history.  These archives include such collections as the Sir Bernard Pares Collection that includes materials on the British delegation to Russia (1909-1912) and the reciprocal Visit of Duma members to Britain (1908-1912). As a reminder of the visit Sir Bernard Pares received from the Duma a set of silver goblets with the surnames of the delegates engraved on them. The collection is displayed at the entrance to the School.

Audio-visual collections

The Library's Bain Graffy Film Collection includes a large collection of documentaries on Russian history, as well as history programmes recorded from television. The collection is available to UCL staff and students only. The items cannot be borrowed, but can be watched on site.


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip