About the CollectionHistoryPolitics and SociologyEconomics and BusinessLiterature and Culture
This is the "About the Collection" page of the "Guide to Resources on Russia" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Guide to Resources on Russia  

Last Updated: Oct 12, 2016 URL: http://libguides.ucl.ac.uk/russia Print Guide RSS Updates

About the Collection Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Resources

Click on the button below to follow UCL SSEES Library on Twitter to keep up to date with new resources

Follow UCLSSEESLibrary on Twitter

 

About the Collections

The Library supports taught courses at the School, but the collection is research in nature and contains an impressive array of traditional and digital resources. These resources include a wide variety of sources that include archives and rare books, such as Ulozhenie tsaria Aleksieia Mikhalovicha [1649], full editions of Russian classics such as Dostoevskii, Tolstoy, Lermontov, an extensive selection of modern writers represented by such authors as Victor Pelevin, Olga Slavnikova, Ludmila Ulitskaya,  Mikhail Shishkin, writings on and by political leaders including Lenin, Stalin, Khrushchev, Brezhnev, Gorbachev, Yeltsin, Medvedev, Putin, contemporary political figures such as Edvard Limonov, Boris Berezovskii, Boris Nemtsov, Gennadyi Ziuganov, Sergei Udaltsov, Dmitrii Rogozin, Sergei Mironov, Vladimir Zhirinovskii, modern political writers or investigative journalists such as Anna Politkovskaya, Masha Gessen,  Mikhail Leontev and Aleksandr Dugin.

Recent political events such as the ‘colour’ revolutions, the Khodorkovskii affair, the murder of Aleksandr Litvinenko, the Georgian War of 2008 or the Pussy Riot case are all reflected in Library holdings. These holdings are complemented by an unrivalled number of digital resources. For example, in addition to well-equipped printed holdings and more than 4,000 films on DVD, users interested in cinema studies have access to several databases such as Early Russian Cinema, Screen and Stage or Soviet Cinema that offer comprehensive access to an extensive number of full-text Russian periodicals from the first half of the 20th century.

Researchers interested in the Stalin period have access to the Stalin Digital Archive, as well as access to digitised versions of the most popular Soviet newspapers Izvestiia and Pravda or to the complete digital edition of leading historical journal Voprosy Istorii. Our users also have access to a large number of central and regional Russian newspapers via the Eastview database. Additionally some of our special collections, such as maps or travel books have been digitised and now form a part of the Europeana Digital Library. For the latest additions to the Library and the Russian collection see our Recent Acquisitions page.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip