About the CollectionsHistoryPolitics and SociologyEconomics and BusinessLanguage, Literature and Culture
This is the "Language, Literature and Culture" page of the "Guide to Resources on the Czech Republic" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Guide to Resources on the Czech Republic  

Last Updated: Jul 12, 2017 URL: http://libguides.ucl.ac.uk/czech Print Guide RSS Updates

Language, Literature and Culture Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Resources

Click on the button below to follow UCL SSEES Library on Twitter to keep up to date with new resources

Follow UCLSSEESLibrary on Twitter

 

Resources on the Czech Republic - Language, Literature and Culture

Book collections

Search UCL books/e-books and pamphlets on Czech language, literature and culture in Explore. For help and useful tips on how to search, see the guide to using Explore. For information about finding and requesting stores items see our FAQ.

  • Books in print

Books covering Czech arts are located on the First Floor of the Library at Cz.XX, including books on Czech film and theatre at Cz.XX.4. Works on Czech language are located at Cz.XXIII, including grammars and course books at Cz.XXIII.4. Czech literary works are arranged alphabetically by author at Cz.XXIV.7. For Czechoslovakia see the same classmarks in the Cs section. Art books are shelved separately at Cz.XX.3.

Books with a STORES location can be requested via store request form.

For e-books check the Complete list of e-books available to members of UCL.

 

Journals and journal articles

Search journals and journal articles in Explore or in specialist databases available to members of UCL. For help and useful tips on how to search, see the guide to using Explore. For information on finding and requesting journal articles, electronic journals or stores items see our FAQ.

  • E-Journals with a focus on Czech language and literature:

Linguistica Pragensia - an international peer-reviewed linguistics journal, drawing on the ideas of the Prague School of Linguistics in the context of present-day linguistic trends, it publishes original articles, book reviews and news in English, French, German, Italian and Spanish, with abstracts of articles in English. UCL Library Services provide online access from 2005 to the present.

Slovo a slovesnost - a quarterly journal for the theory of language and language cultivation, founded in 1935 by the Prague Linguistic Circle, with emphasis on theory as well as the continuation and development of the Prague School structuralist and functionalist tradition. UCL Library Services provide online access from 2004 to the present.

Česká literatura (Czech Literature) - a peer-reviewed journal published six times a year by the ASCR Institute for Czech Literature, with a focus on research into history and poetics, the contexts and functions of Czech literature and the issues surrounding Czech and world literary studies theory. UCL Library Services provide online access from 2005 to the present.

More subject-specific journals can be accessed via E-journals available to members of UCL or the Central and Eastern European Online Library, a database of full-text articles from over 250 humanities and social science journals, electronic books and re-digitised documents.

Search UCL’s databases to find articles on Czech language, literature, cinema andart in international journals.

  • Printed journals are located on the Lower Ground Floor of the Library. Journals with a STORES location can be requested via store request form.

 

Audio-visual material

The Library’s film and video collection is one of the biggest collections of Russian, Central and Eastern European film in the UK. It covers Czech and Czechoslovak feature films, animations and documentaries, dating back to 1950s, including the films of the Czechoslovak New Wave directors Miloš Forman, Věra Chytilová and Jiří Menzel; animations featuring works of Jiří Barta, Jan Švankmajer, Emil Radok and Hermína Týrlová; and documentary portraits of the Czechoslovak film and animation directors.

For a detailed description of the films, animations and documentaries available to members of UCL, see the Bain Graffy Film Collection. For information about access rights and requesting audio-visual material see the FAQ.

 

Language-learning material

The Library provides a variety of materials to support Czech language teaching and learning, including complete course books with audio and visual components for the development of all skills, practice materials and off-air recordings of Czech news and documentaries. For information about access rights and requesting audio-visual material see the FAQ.

 

 Internet Resources

Institute of the Czech Language: E-sources

Czech Literature Portal

Municipal Library of Prague E-Library

The European Film Gateway 

Official website of the Czech Republic

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip