Resources on the Czech Republic - Economics and Business
Journals and journal articles
Search journals and journal articles in Explore or in specialist databases available to members of UCL. For help and useful tips on how to search, see the guide to using Explore. For information on finding and requesting journal articles, electronic journals or stores items see the FAQ.
- E-Journals with a focus on Czech economics, business and finance
Czech Economic Review - a peer-reviewed journal in economics published at Charles University in Prague. UCL Library Services provide online access from 2007 to the present.
Central European Business Review - a peer-reviewed journal focused on strategic business issues with a Central European perspective. Open-access journal.
Statistika: Statistics and Economy Journal - a professional journal of the Czech Statistical Office published in cooperation with the Czech Statistical Society. Open-access journal.
Finance a Uver: Czech Journal of Economics & Finance - a peer-reviewed journal published by Charles University in Prague, with a focus on monetary economics, public finance, financial economics, and international economics. UCL Library Services provide online access from 2009 to the present.
More subject-specific journals can be accessed via E-journals available to members of UCL or the Central and Eastern European Online Library, a database of full-text articles from over 250 humanities and social science journals, electronic books and re-digitised documents.
- Printed journals are located on the Lower Ground Floor of the library. Journals with a STORES location can be requested via store request form.
The databases available to members of UCL contain general economics databases and indexes.
Datastream: A financial information database, available on-site at SSEES Library only. Coverage includes equity indexes, unit trusts, bonds, interest rates, exchange rates and commodities, with tools for exploring historical trends, and relationships between time series.
World Bank Data: Statistics on development in countries around the globe, collated by the World Bank. Consists of a number of datasets including development indicators, debt statistics and trade logistics statistics. Openly available for flexible re-use.
- Working papers
EconPapers: A collection of economics working papers and journal articles, based on RePEc bibliographic and author data.
- Economic information and business news
Amadeus: A database of comparable financial information for public and private companies across Europe.
BBC Monitoring (Russia and Europe): Reports from radio, television, news agencies, press and new media, providing a distinctive foreign news and information service from open sources (from 1999 onwards). Username and password required. Contact SSEES Library staff for details.
Economist Intelligence Unit Country Reports and Profiles (SSEES only): Full text of reports covering the political scene, economic policy, domestic economy, sectoral trends and foreign trade of each country, with detailed two-year political and economic forecasts. Full text of country profiles, covering a country’s economic and political status and background.
Europa: Gateway to the European Union: Portal site of the European Union (EU). Provides up-to-date coverage of European Union affairs and information on European integration.
Nexis UK (LexisNexis Business and News): Database of news and company information (formerly provided as LexisNexis 'Executive').
Search Explore for UCL books/e-books and pamphlets on Czech economics and business. For help and useful tips on how to search, see the guide to using Explore. For information about finding and requesting stores items see our FAQ.
- Books in print
The Library’s collection of books on Czech economics, economic history and management in general are located at Cz.XVI.1. Individual shelf marks cover titles on Czech industry Cz.XVI.4, labour Cz.XVI.5, commerce and foreign trade Cz.XVI.7, and finance Cz.XVI.9. For the economics of Czechoslovakia see Cs.XVI. Books with a STORES location can be requested via store request form.
For e-books check the Complete list of e-books available to members of UCL.
- Databases and Statistics
- Country reports and profiles
- Economic and business news
The Economics subject guide lists further relevant general resources.