About the CollectionsHistoryPolitics and SociologyEconomics and BusinessLanguage, Literature and Culture
This is the "Politics and Sociology" page of the "Guide to Resources on the Czech Republic" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Guide to Resources on the Czech Republic  

Last Updated: Jul 12, 2017 URL: http://libguides.ucl.ac.uk/czech Print Guide RSS Updates

Politics and Sociology Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Resources

Click on the button below to follow UCL SSEES Library on Twitter to keep up to date with new resources

Follow UCLSSEESLibrary on Twitter

 

Resources on the Czech Republic - Politics and Sociology

Journals and journal articles

Search journals and journal articles in Explore or in specialist databases available to members of UCL. For help and useful tips on how to search, see the guide to using Explore. For information on finding and requesting journal articles, electronic journals or stores items see the FAQ. 

  • E-Journals with focus on Czech politics and sociology

Transitions Online – a magazine covering political, social, cultural, and economic issues in the former communist countries of Europe and Central Asia. UCL Library Services provide online access from 2003 to the present.

Politologický časopis - Czech Journal of Political Science - a scholarly quarterly journal and the first peer-reviewed political science periodical published in the Czech Republic. UCL Library Services provide online access from 2003 to the present.

Sociologický časopis / Czech Sociological Review - a semi-annual journal of the Czech sociological community with a focus on the issues of transformation in Central and Eastern Europe. UCL Library Services provide online access from 1994 to the present.

More subject-specific journals can be accessed via E-journals available to members of UCL or the Central and Eastern European Online Library, a database of full-text articles from over 250 humanities and social science journals, electronic books and re-digitised documents.

Search UCL’s databases to find articles on Czech politics and sociology in international journals.

  • Printed journals are located on the Lower Ground Floor of the library. Journals with a STORES location can be requested via store request form.

 

News sources

Search Explore or specialist databases available to members of UCL to find Czech news sources. For help and useful tips on how to search, see the guide to using Explore. For information about finding and requesting stores items see the FAQ.

  •  Databases covering Czech news sources

Nexis UK (LexisNexis Business and News) : A database of news and company information (formerly provided as LexisNexis 'Executive'). The database sources include Czech Republic This Week, Czech Republic Today, The Prague Post, CTK newswires, economic newsletters and NEWTON digests.

East View Online Databases: World News Connection - Central and Eastern Europe includes newswires from CTK (Czech News Agency), Czech Happenings, Hospodářské noviny, Hospodářské noviny online, Lidové noviny, Mladá fronta dnes and Právo.

Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports: Transcribed and translated intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories, covering 1941-1996.

  • Printed newspapers

Czech daily newspapers Hospodářské noviny, Lidové noviny, Mladá fronta dnes, Prague Post, Právo are located on the Lower Ground Floor of the library. Newspapers with a STORES location can be requested via store request form.

  • Online newspapers

The Directory of Internet Resources contains links to news sources available on the internet.

 

Book collections

Search Explore for UCL books/e-books and pamphlets on Czech politics and sociology. For help and useful tips on how to search, see the guide to using Explore. For information about finding and requesting stores items see the FAQ. 

  • Books in print

The Library’s collection of books on politics, political sociology, political movements, the history of political thought, nationalism and ethnicity of Czechoslovakia is located on the First Floor of the Library at Cs.XII. Books relating solely to Czech politics are located at Cz.XII. Works by or about Czech politicians are shelved at Cz.XII.a. Books covering sociology, social life, social history and socio-economics are located at Cs.XIX and Cz.XIX. Primary sources on Czech history and politics can be found at Cs.VI.

Books with a STORES location can be requested either via .

For e-books check the Complete list of e-books available to members of UCL.

 

Audio-visual material

The Bain Graffy Film Collection includes documentaries on Czech politics. For information about access rights and requesting audio-visual material, see the FAQ.

 

Internet resources

The Directory of Internet Resources lists relevant links to government and official information, elections results, news sources and other specialist resources.

Joint Czech and Slovak Digital Parliamentary Library

The Czech Social Science Data Archive

Internet Law Library - Czech Republic

 

The Political Science and Public Policy subject guide lists further relevant general resources.

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip