About the CollectionsHistoryPolitics and SociologyEconomics and BusinessLanguage, Literature and Culture
This is the "About the Collections" page of the "Guide to Resources on the Czech Republic" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Guide to Resources on the Czech Republic  

Last Updated: Jul 12, 2017 URL: http://libguides.ucl.ac.uk/czech Print Guide RSS Updates

About the Collections Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Resources

Click on the button below to follow UCL SSEES Library on Twitter to keep up to date with new resources

Follow UCLSSEESLibrary on Twitter

 

About the Czech Collections

The collections comprise books and pamphlets, journals, newspapers, archives, maps and audio-visual material. Access is now available to a wide range of E-resources including over 50 journal and newspaper titles covering the Czech Republic. The material is collected primarily in Czech and English languages but some of the pre-1918 historical sources are acquired in Latin or German, used in the past as historical administrative languages of the country.

Books and pamphlets have been divided into two separate classes to reflect the geo-political changes that have taken place within the region: Cs (works relating to the former Czechoslovakia or works covering both the Czech Republic and Slovakia), and Cz (works relating solely to the Czech Republic).

Some historically important and rare travel books including accounts of travel through Bohemia before 1860, and historic maps were digitised as part of the EU’s Europeana Travel project.

The Library holdings also include archive collections of significant importance for the study of Czechoslovak history. The items of exceptional value include Jan Garrigue Masaryk’s papers; the correspondence and papers of Professor R.W. Seton-Watson; Karel Lisický’s papers on Czechoslovak foreign relations 1915-1948; photographic slides of Czechoslovakia taken by Professor F.W. Carter; etc.

An invaluable resource for UCL students and staff is being acquired in the Bain Graffy Film Collection. The Czech section of the collection contains over 100 feature films, approximately 100 animations and about 50 documentaries. Particularly strong is the material featuring the Czechoslovak New Wave Cinema, which includes recently released 26 TV portraits of the Czechoslovak New Wave directors such as Miloš Forman, Věra Chytilová and Jiří Menzel, followed by interviews with the filmmakers and their contemporaries.

For queries and assistance with the Czech Collections, please contact:
Zuzana Pincikova
Area Specialist for Central Europe

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip