Search Explore to find UCL books/e-books and pamphlets on Hungarian history. For help and useful tips on how to search see the guide to using Explore. For information about finding and requesting books, pamphlets, rare books or store items see the FAQ.
Primary sources on Hungarian history and politics are located on the First Floor of the Library at H.VI. Secondary sources covering the history of Hungary are located on the First Floor of the Library at H.IX. Reference books such as Révai nagy lexikona can be found at H.REF.
Material published before 1850 is kept in the Local Store and can be requested at the Library’s issue desk, see the FAQ. Some historically important rare travel books were digitised as part of the EU’s Europeana Travel project and include accounts of travel through Hungary before 1860.
E-book Collections and Databases comprising books/primary sources on Hungarian history:
See also the Complete list of e-books available to members of UCL.
Journals and journal articles
Search journals and journal articles in Explore or in specialist databases available to members of UCL. For help and useful tips on how to search, see the guide to using Explore. For information on finding and requesting journals, journal articles, or store items see the FAQ.
The Hungarian Historical Review - the new series of Acta Historica Academiae Scientiarum Hungaricae. UCL Library Services provide online access from 2013 to the present.
AETAS - Történettudományi folyóirat (AETAS - Journal of history and related disciplines) - UCL Library Services provide online access from 1997 to the present.
More subject-specific journals can be accessed via E-journals available to members of UCL or the Central and Eastern European Online Library - an online archive of full-text articles from over 250 humanities and social science journals, electronic books and re-digitised documents.
Search UCL’s databases to find articles on Hungarian history in international journals.
IVA/1 - IG's papers re Lajos Kossuth (circa) (1939-1965)
IVA/2 - IG's papers re Count István Széchenyi (circa) (1936-1965)
IVA/3 - IG's writings, correspondence and other papers re nineteenth and twentieth century Hungarian history and current affairs (circa) (1939-1965)
IVA/4 - IG's writings and other papers re eighteenth and nineteenth century British history (circa) (1939-1965)
IVA/5 - IG's writings and other papers re European history (circa) (1939-1965).
JON/1 Draft chapters and speeches relating to Jones' translation of Eötvös, József 'The dominant ideas of the nineteenth century and their impact on the state'
JON/2 Background articles and research for Jones' translation of Eötvös, József 'The dominant ideas of the nineteenth century and their impact on the state'
Historic maps from UCL SSEES Library Special Collections, digitised as part of the Europeana Travel project, include maps of Austria-Hungary dating from the 19th century back to 1490.
The Bain Graffy Film Collection contains documentaries on Hungarian history, as well as history programs recorded from Hungarian TV and the BBC. For information about access rights and requesting audio-visual material see the FAQ.
Hungarian Electronic Library - includes more than 1000 titles on Hungarian history
Electronic Periodicals Archive & Database - provides access to more than 1,300 Hungarian journals and historic newspapers (in Hungarian)
Hungarian Digital Image Library – a collection of over 40,000 images developed by the National Széchényi Library in collaboration with 48 Hungarian libraries in 2008-2009
Bibliotheca Corviniana Digitalis - provides online access to 36 corvinae from the collection of the National Széchényi Library (in Hungarian)
OSA Archivum Digital Repository - contains over 117,200 items on former Eastern Bloc history 1951-1994
Hungarian Archives Portal – searchable databases of material deposited mostly in local governmental archives in Hungary
Monasterium.Net - digital archive of over 220,000 primary sources from Central European archives
EuroDocs: Online Sources for European History - history of Hungary: primary documents.
EUscreen - videos, images, text and audio from European broadcasters and audio-visual archives ranging from the early 1900s to the present day
Europeana - a single access point to Europe's digital resources