Skip to main content

Guide to Resources on Albania: About the collection

Albania - About the collection

The UCL SSEES Library Albanian collections mirror the main areas of research and interest for the School with a focus on important scholarly resources on historypolitics and sociologyeconomics and business, and language, literature and culture. They are of international importance and provide the basis for excellence in teaching and research of the School.

The collection on Albania is to be found on the Lower Ground Floor of the Library, and covers the history, politics, economics, social sciences, culture, language and literature of the country.

Books in the section start with the shelfmark A, and are further subdivided according to the UCL SSEES Library classification scheme.

Please note that books about Kosovo are shelved with the section Gen.Ju.Kos, although books by literary authors of Kosovan origin are shelved with other works of literature.

The majority of the collection consists of works in Albanian or English, although occasionally books may also be acquired in other European languages.

Interest in Albania at the School was originally fostered by S.E. Mann, reader in the Czech and Albanian languages from 1961 to 1972. The Library's collection on Albanian history, language and literature includes Mann's dictionaries, grammar and outline of Albanian literature.

Acquisitions in the field of Albanian studies have historically benefited from support through funding linked to the bequest of Alex Nash (formerly Naçi, 1949-1995).

The Library subscribes to some daily newspapers as well as to scholarly serial publications originating from or pertaining to the area.

Some historically important and rare travel books including accounts of travel through Albania before 1860, and historic maps were digitised as part of the EU’s Europeana Travel project.

The Library holdings also include archive collections of interest in the study of history of Albania. A selection of digitised archive material can be seen in the UCL SSEES Special Collections.

An invaluable resource for UCL students and staff is being acquired in the Bain Graffy Film Collection. The section of the collection contains documentaries on the country.  Where possible, copies with subtitles are obtained in order to open the collection to as wide an audience as possible. For information about access rights and requesting audio-visual material see our FAQ.

Getting help

Suzana Tamamović

Area Liaison Librarian for

South East Europe

Email: s.tamamovic@ucl.ac.uk